Monthly Recap and Book of the Month

I can’t believe April is already over. I’ve been reading at an insatiable rate recently — a lot of good books and some bad books, but 90 percent of the time I have a book in my hand.

control myself.gif

 Book of the Month*

31176886

The Chemist by Stephanie Meyer- 4.5 star review

I was surprised at how much I liked this one!

*based on books reviewed this month

April Reviews (Total-5)

Fate of the Tearling by Erika Johansen

Invasion of the Tearling by Erika Johansen

By Your Side by Kasie West

Royally Matched by Emma Chase

 

 2017 Reading Challenge Progress

badge-home-2d9db8a46455f8f5ba6fb30fbe7c637f

 I have read 25 out of 100 books. (Read 6 books this month.) I’m behind!! How can that be?

Currently Reading

29863848.jpg

The Chosen by J.R. Ward

I’m loving it, but this has to be my least favorite cover of hers. It’s giving me an early 80s vibe.

Next on my TBR

28116719

What I’m Watching

Girlboss-Poster-700x393

I watched the first season on Netflix. It was hilarious but I found myself cringing more so than laughing.

What I’m writing

giphy (4).gif

I’m doing a major edit on my first WIP. It’s been beyond frustrating. I feel like I’m rewriting the entire novel, but at least I know it’ll be better in the end. I’m still blown away at how difficult it is to write a good story. It’s one thing to get the words down, it’s another to make it all make sense and be entertaining.

What else?

utopia.png

I’m planning on going to Utopiacon in Nashville in June. I’ve been once before a few years ago and I’m excited to go again, only this time I’ll be going as an aspiring novelist not just a blogger. Are you going? If so, let me know! I’d love to meet up and hang out.

By Your Side by Kasie West

Trapped in a library…all weekend…with a hot boy? Count me in. By Your Side by Kasie West is every book nerd’s dream come true.

30256248In this irresistible story, Kasie West explores the timeless question of what to do when you fall for the person you least expect. Witty and romantic, this paperback original from a fan favorite is perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins and Morgan Matson.

When Autumn Collins finds herself accidentally locked in the library for an entire weekend, she doesn’t think things could get any worse. But that’s before she realizes that Dax Miller is locked in with her. Autumn doesn’t know much about Dax except that he’s trouble. Between the rumors about the fight he was in (and that brief stint in juvie that followed it) and his reputation as a loner, he’s not exactly the ideal person to be stuck with. Still, she just keeps reminding herself that it is only a matter of time before Jeff, her almost-boyfriend, realizes he left her in the library and comes to rescue her.

Only he doesn’t come. No one does.

Instead it becomes clear that Autumn is going to have to spend the next couple of days living off vending-machine food and making conversation with a boy who clearly wants nothing to do with her. Except there is more to Dax than meets the eye. As he and Autumn first grudgingly, and then not so grudgingly, open up to each other, Autumn is struck by their surprising connection. But can their feelings for each other survive once the weekend is over and Autumn’s old life, and old love interest, threaten to pull her from Dax’s side?

It’s difficult to review Kasie West’s books because they are all so sweet and fun, and they take place over a short period of time so there is only so much you can say without giving anything away. Plus, I think going into Kasie’s books blind is the best way to read.

Bottom line, I enjoyed it very much. It hit all my YA contemporary romance buttons in true Kasie West style. I smiled, I laughed, I swooned. Her characters appear simple, but they have such complexity built underneath that makes them pop up from the page like real people.

I don’t want to give anything away, but a couple heavy topics are discussed in this book, and I loved the somewhat awkward conversations and interactions surrounding them. It is difficult and awkward to talk about serious things in real life and West played true to exactly how most teenagers would react. I wish I could have heard more of Dax’s story by getting his perspective. I felt his painful past was more intriguing than Autumn’s.

If I’m completely honest, this is my least favorite of all West’s books, and I wish she would have played with the library piece more, but it was still good enough to read in one sitting.

STARS: 4 out of 5