Twist by Kylie Scott

I freakin’ love Kylie Scott, so I was ecstatic to get my paws on Twist, the second novel in her Dive Bar series.

28220678When his younger brother loses interest in online dating, hot, bearded, bartender extraordinaire, Joe Collins, only intends to log into his account and shut it down. Until he reads about her.

Alex Parks is funny, friendly, and pretty much everything he’s been looking for in a woman. And in no time at all they’re emailing up a storm, telling each other their deepest darkest secrets… apart from the one that really matters.

And when it comes to love, serving it straight up works better than with a twist.

 

This story jumps right into the first meeting between Alex and the man she thinks she’s been talking to online for months. The scene where she meets the younger brother– the one in the pictures — was hilarious, but the confrontation with Joe, the man behind the emails, was super entertaining. And the entertainment didn’t stop throughout the story.  I loved getting to see pieces of their email correspondence with each chapter, giving the reader a glimpse of what came before. The book takes place over a short period of time, but it was well-paced.

I loved watching Alex get over her perception of the “perfect man” and fall for the bearded and rugged Joe, who is hot in a totally different way. They each had issues to overcome and it was beautiful to watch them break down each other’s barriers. Also, the steamy scenes were the best kind — HOT and moved the story forward. Each touch and caress loaded with meaning and plot development.

My favorite secondary character was Alex’s best friend and transwoman. I hope we get to see more of her in books to come. It was also great to see Nell and her story progress. However, I feel like A LOT happened and I wish I got to see it from her perspective. I’m wanting to hear Nell’s story STAT!

My biggest issue with the book was the ending. Joe is such a loyal, supportive guy, and his behavior at the end didn’t match the ethics of his character. Even though everything works out in the end, I thought his actions were unwarranted and unnecessary. Because of that, I couldn’t give this story 5 stars.

With that said, I still love Kylie Scott. I was totally enraptured with her writing and storytelling, and she’ll always be an auto-buy author for me.

STARS: 4 out of 5

One thought on “Twist by Kylie Scott

  1. Pingback: Monthly Recap and Book of the Month |

Leave a Reply

