Torn by Carian Cole

Thank you baby Jesus.

That’s what I’m thinking as I one-clicked Carian Cole’s latest novel, Torn. I devoured her Ashes & Embers series so I was oh-so-ready for her new Devil’s Wolves series.

28481104He’s loved me since the day I was born.
He’s taken care of me.
He’s awakened me.

Tor. My father’s best friend.
Fifteen years older than me, he’s always been my protector.
The one I should never, ever want.
But I was born to be his.

She’s always loved me.
She’s shattered me.
She’s healed me.

Kenzi. My best friend’s daughter.
I held her the day she was born, and I never let go.
She’s forbidden to me. But she’s the only one that really gets me.
We’re slowly being torn apart by everything we love.
Everything we want.
Everything we desire.

And now I want the one thing I can’t have… I want her.

I know what you’re thinking. A romance between a 32-year-old and an 18-year-old? That’s gross! But you couldn’t be more wrong. This book, at the heart of it, is two people falling in love despite external forces, age, societal expectations, timing, etc. It was so tastefully done. There was never a time I felt uncomfortable or my eyebrows raised in disbelief. The combination of Cole’s storytelling and these two wonderfully complex characters made for a whirlwind romance. I was hanging on every last word, the pages burning in my hands as the writing etched itself in my heart. I really frickin’ loved this book.

Tor and Kenzi’s love story was all about discovery and awakening and first love — for both of them. They had such a cute friendship that bloomed into a scorching romance. The obstacles they faced just to be together had my heart twisting. I was surprised at how sweet Tor was with the animal rescue he was involved in, and I loved the scene with their first kiss. It was beyond epic.

Cole does bad boys like no one else. They have the long hair, the tats, the bad ass attitude but they have hearts of gold and are gentlemen at their core. I loved seeing glimpses of my favorite characters of the Ashes & Ember series and I’m so looking forward to reading Tor’s brothers’ stories. The secondary characters in this novel are so real to me, and I want to hear their stories.

If you like bad boy romance, then you need to read Carian Cole.

STARS: 5 out of 5

 

One thought on “Torn by Carian Cole

  1. Pingback: Monthly Recap and Book of the Month |

Leave a Reply

