Royally Screwed by Emma Chase

I fell head over heels in love with Royally Screwed by Emma Chase. This is the first book I’ve read by this author and I can’t wait to read more.

29991719.jpgNicholas Arthur Frederick Edward Pembrook, Crowned Prince of Wessco, aka His Royal Hotness, is wickedly charming, devastatingly handsome, and unabashedly arrogant; hard not to be when people are constantly bowing down to you.

Then, one snowy night in Manhattan, the prince meets a dark haired beauty who doesn’t bow down. Instead, she throws a pie in his face.

Nicholas wants to find out if she tastes as good as her pie, and this heir apparent is used to getting what he wants.

Dating a prince isn’t what waitress Olivia Hammond ever imagined it would be.

There’s a disapproving queen, a wildly inappropriate spare heir, relentless paparazzi, and brutal public scrutiny. While they’ve traded in horse drawn carriages for Rolls Royces, and haven’t chopped anyone’s head off lately, the royals are far from accepting of this commoner.

But to Olivia, Nicholas is worth it.

Nicholas grew up with the whole world watching, and now Marriage Watch is in full force. In the end, Nicholas has to decide who he is and, more importantly, who he wants to be: a King… or the man who gets to love Olivia forever.

I’m a sucker for a fairy tale and what’s better than a prince falling in love with an ordinary, modern-day girl? This story had all the ups and downs expected of a fairy tale without seeming predictable. I felt it was well-paced with the necessary smaller steps needed to form a substantial relationship before the “falling” in love part.

I listened to the audiobook, and generally listening has an impact on how the story is read/heard, but it definitely made all the difference in this story because the Prince had a European accent and Olivia had an American one. The narrators did an excellent job and it added another layer of enjoyment to hear the story told as it should. I, for one, never read a book silently in my head in the correct accent so it made the story more dimensional.

I was surprised at the ending. As expected, it was happy, but it also had a dose of reality, which I found refreshing. It was the pieces of reality that peeked through the fairy tale lens that made this story unique.

At the end of the day, I just simply enjoyed this book. It had me laughing out loud, grinning like a fool and happy-sighing throughout. If you’re a fan of New Adult romance with a fairy tale twist, give this one a try.

STARS: 4 out of 5

4 thoughts on “Royally Screwed by Emma Chase

  1. I need to read this one! I’m kind of on a New Adult kick lately but haven’t picked up a lot of books (currently reading the Addicted series) but this one seems up my alley. I love these types of romances too, but I’ve never read one from a NA perspective, and from your review it seems like it’s done really well. Great review. 🙂

  2. Pingback: My Top Books of 2016 |

  3. Pingback: Royally Matched by Emma Chase |

Leave a Reply

