The Angelfall Trilogy (Penryn & The End of Days) by Susan Ee

Angelfall by Susan Ee has been on my radar for years. I’ve just never taken the time to pick it up. Once I did, I couldn’t put it down and I devoured the rest of the trilogy back to back. Once I’d turned the last page, I was still left hungry and wanting more.

27274908.jpgIt’s been six weeks since angels of the apocalypse descended to demolish the modern world. Street gangs rule the day while fear and superstition rule the night. When warrior angels fly away with a helpless little girl, her seventeen-year-old sister Penryn will do anything to get her back.

Anything, including making a deal with an enemy angel.

Raffe is a warrior who lies broken and wingless on the street. After eons of fighting his own battles, he finds himself being rescued from a desperate situation by a half-starved teenage girl.

Traveling through a dark and twisted Northern California, they have only each other to rely on for survival. Together, they journey toward the angels’ stronghold in San Francisco where she’ll risk everything to rescue her sister and he’ll put himself at the mercy of his greatest enemies for the chance to be made whole again.

I am still in awe over the simplicity and awesomeness of this series. The main protagonist Penryn is so brave and good. I couldn’t help but relate to how normal she is and be humbled by how tightly she clings to her humanity in this post apocalyptic world. She’s the perfect kind of heroine — the kind you can’t help but root for.

From the very first book, my favorite secondary character has to be Penryn’s mom. She is such a badass! I loved the twist with her mental instability that might just be appropriately placed religious fervor. From the moment she came on the scene carting her rotten eggs and displaying random bursts of violence, I fell in love with her. She was such a unique and unexpected character that heightened the levels of comedy and drama while adding heartwarming touches.

This book is my favorite kind of romance. Penryn and Raffe’s relationship was slow-moving and natural despite them being enemies and fighting for their very lives on a daily basis. I loved that Penryn was driven by selflessness and they were each strong in their own right. The fact that their relationship wasn’t center stage was beneficial to the book, which centered around the angels v. humans end of days battle. The action drove the story and I couldn’t get enough. I particularly liked Penryn and her connection to the angel sword. It made her supernatural abilities seem realistic and the sword was a character in it’s own right.

Overall, I really loved this series. I want more from Susan Ee. I can see now why so many love her stories. If you love YA Fantasy, this is the series for you.

STARS: 5 out of 5

2 thoughts on “The Angelfall Trilogy (Penryn & The End of Days) by Susan Ee

Leave a Reply

