A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

I am entranced. A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas is everything I’d hoped it would be. It is a masterpiece.

17927395Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas’s masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.

For me, Sarah J. Maas is a master storyteller. I hang on every word, every beautifully crafted sentence, like it’s the last bit of joy in a world full of darkness. I thought A Court of Thorns and Roses was the best book I’d  ever read, but ACOMAF takes the title as the  greatest book of all time. I know I sound like Chris Harrison, where every season of the Bachelor is the “most dramatic season ever” but I truly mean that this story has a place in my heart for the rest of my days. It’s the epitome of why I read, what I love to read and how reading has made a lasting impact on my life.

If you’ve read Maas’s Throne of Glass series then this won’t surprise you, but she has a way of building up a love interest into the most unique soul mate, never to be matched or outdone, until the next book rolls around and she masterfully weaves a new angle that is subtly built with each page until its brilliance smacks you in the face. A new, better, sexier mate is pushed to the forefront, and as a reader, I could do nothing but cower in its genius. I am in awe. I am not worthy.

He said softly, “I love it when you look at me like that.”

The purr in his voice heated my blood. “Like what?”

“Like my power isn’t something to run from. Like you see me.” (p. 466)

I loved this book. I felt every emotion, every hint of desire or spark of fear. I loved Feyre’s growth as a character, and she truly grew with the deep ache of growing pains, filtering through anguish and fear, building herself back up, learning about what she truly wants and needs. There is so much I want to talk about but I can’t without fear of giving too much away.  This book is surprisingly sensual and I loved every minute of it.

“And if he grabbed me?”

There was nothing but uncompromising will in his eyes. “Then I would have torn apart the world to get you back.” (p. 469)

After finishing ACOTAR, I was left reeling with what the last chapter of Rhysand and Feyre meant, with the hint of vulnerability that was revealed. The reasoning behind it was better than I could have hoped for. There were other moments in ACOMAF, where Maas put the puzzle of this story together so well that once the pieces were put into place and the full picture realized, I was left breathless.

The ending was satisfying, terrifying and bloody brilliant. I am in agony that I have to wait for the next book, but knowing Maas, it will be bigger and better than the last so I’ll wait every agonizing moment until the next masterpiece is unveiled. If you have not read this series, it is a must read. It is magic on paper. It is brilliance in a book. It’s the book you’ve been waiting for.

STARS: 10 out of 5 (Because I can)

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Pingback: My Book Slump – An Unfortunate Misadventure Told in Mini Reviews |

  2. Pingback: July Recap and Book of the Month |

  3. Pingback: 5 Book Quotes That Help Me with Anxiety |

  4. Pingback: My Top Books of 2016 |

  5. Pingback: Releases and Recommendations: A Court of Wings and Ruin |

Leave a Reply

