Play by Kylie Scott

Kylie Scott is my spirit animal.

I understand she’s a human being and all, but in my imagination, she’s this great, mythical flying tigress that etches her stories into weathered stone.

Play is the second book in the New Adult Stage Dive series, which follows a member of the band on their epic journey to find love. Play is about Mal, the drummer, and I couldn’t stop laughing.

19095025Kylie Scott returns with the highly anticipated follow-up to international bestseller Lick.

Mal Ericson, drummer for the world famous rock band Stage Dive, needs to clean up his image fast—at least for a little while. Having a good girl on his arm should do the job just fine. Mal doesn’t plan on this temporary fix becoming permanent, but he didn’t count on finding the one right girl.

Anne Rollins never thought she’d ever meet the rock god who plastered her teenage bedroom walls—especially not under these circumstances. Anne has money problems. Big ones. But being paid to play the pretend girlfriend to a wild life-of-the-party drummer couldn’t end well. No matter how hot he is. Or could it?

I listened to the audiobook, so picture me cruising down the highway head thrown back in guffaws of laughter (while simultaneously watching the road, cuz ya know, driving.) I’m sure I looked ridiculous, but I was having a really good time listening to this book. (BTW, if you’re the guy in the black Mercedes that made eye contact with me on I-75, I wasn’t laughing at you. I promise.) Kylie Scott already writes funny books, but Mal Erickson takes the cake for the most hilarious character. His ridiculous comments, inability to feel shame and gut-punching comebacks were pure amazingness. You should read this book on the comedic merits alone, but I digress.

I love that this book gives you everything you’d expect from a rock star novel while still grounding the story in reality. Scott really digs into the reality or surreality (Is that a word? Microsoft Word says no, but we’re going with it.) of dating a rock star, but peels back the human layers, exposing the raw emotions. Everyone loves a bad boy rocker that’s broken, and Scott delivers the quintessential damaged soul every. single. time. But it also feels fresh and original. The authenticity of Scott’s characters is what makes her unique in this genre.

I don’t know what else to say, but I laughed out loud, I swooned, I cringed in sympathy. This book was a fun, crazy ride that any and all New Adult fans will enjoy.

STARS: 5 out of 5

2 thoughts on “Play by Kylie Scott

  1. Pingback: June Recap and Book of the Month |

  2. Pingback: My Top Books of 2016 |

Leave a Reply

