The Good Girl by Mary Kubica

The Good Girl by Mary Kubica was a recent book club read that I’d never normally pick up on my own, but I really enjoyed it.

18812405“I’ve been following her for the past few days. I know where she buys her groceries, where she works. I don’t know the color of her eyes or what they look like when she’s scared. But I will.”

One night, Mia Dennett enters a bar to meet her on-again, off-again boyfriend. But when he doesn’t show, she unwisely leaves with an enigmatic stranger. At first Colin Thatcher seems like a safe one-night stand. But following Colin home will turn out to be the worst mistake of Mia’s life.

When Colin decides to hide Mia in a secluded cabin in rural Minnesota instead of delivering her to his employers, Mia’s mother, Eve, and detective Gabe Hoffman will stop at nothing to find them. But no one could have predicted the emotional entanglements that eventually cause this family’s world to shatter.

An addictively suspenseful and tautly written thriller, The Good Girl is a propulsive debut that reveals how even in the perfect family, nothing is as it seems.

The Good Girl had me turning pages late into the night because I HAD to know what happened next. It was darn near painful to be separated from it. If I wasn’t reading it, I was thinking about it. This suspenseful tale is brilliant, not because of the plot, but because of the way it was told in alternating points of view from before and after the “event.” Also, you never get to see inside the main character’s head until the very end, which was bloody awesome.

This terrible tale weaves a web of deception based on people’s perception, whether it’s the reader’s perception or the different secondary character’s. I was surprised at the amount of urgency built based on the back and forth between perspectives. Usually, alternating points of view bog me down, making me read more slowly or put the book down between chapters, but this novel had me turning pages faster and faster waiting for the shocking reveal.

The reveal at the end wasn’t as shocking as Gone Girl, which this book has been compared to, but it shares the same sense of misguided heroine in search of acceptance. If you like suspenseful thrillers, this is the book for you. If you’re like me, where your heart can’t take the suspense for fear of a genuine heart attack, this book may still be for you. The build up is electric and the pay off is totally worth it.

STARS: 4 out of 5

One thought on “The Good Girl by Mary Kubica

  1. Pingback: June Recap and Book of the Month |

Leave a Reply

