Mirror King by Jodi Meadows

I am so glad The Mirror King by Jodi Meadows was the final book in the Orphan Queen duology. I would have cried if I had to wait for a third book. I needed the satisfaction of knowing what happens to Wil and black knife, and I’m very satisfied indeed.

22909838Wilhelmina has a hundred enemies.

HER FRIENDS HAVE TURNED. After her identity is revealed during the Inundation, Princess Wilhelmina is kept prisoner by the Indigo Kingdom, with the Ospreys lost somewhere in the devastated city. When the Ospreys’ leader emerges at the worst possible moment, leaving Wil’s biggest ally on his deathbed, she must become Black Knife to set things right.

HER MAGIC IS UNCONTROLLABLE. Wil’s power is to animate, not to give true life, but in the wraithland she commanded a cloud of wraith mist to save herself, and later ordered it solid. Now there is a living boy made of wraith—destructive and deadly, and willing to do anything for her.

HER HEART IS TORN. Though she’s ready for her crown, declaring herself queen means war. Caught between what she wants and what is right, Wilhelmina realizes the throne might not even matter. Everyone thought the wraith was years off, but already it’s destroying Indigo Kingdom villages. If she can’t protect both kingdoms, soon there won’t be a land to rule.

In this stunning conclusion to THE ORPHAN QUEEN, Jodi Meadows follows Wilhelmina’s breathtaking and brave journey from orphaned criminal on the streets to magic-wielding queen.

Because this book was the final book, it was long, coming in at 531 pages, but it flew by. The Orphan Queen ended in a very dire situation, and The Mirror King picks up right where it left off. The danger and chaos never stops until the heart-melting ending.

There were a couple twists in this book that I did. Not. See. Coming. In the first book, I kind of had an idea of who Black Knife was, so I anticipated the twists, but this book was shock after shock. My new favorite wedding scene (that is only rivaled by the infamous Game of Thrones “Red Wedding”) is in the middle of this book. I’m sure I stared at the wall my mouth agape for an indefinite period of time.  I’ve never been so shocked/happy/heartbroken/terrified in one moment before. I was impressed. Who comes up with this type of stuff?!? Jodi apparently does. The King’s secret was another twist that threw for me for a loop and there’s another mind-blowing reveal that I can’t even allude to or it will spoil this book for you.

I LOVED this book. It had romance. It had action. It had kickass fight scenes and horrifying representations of kingdom politics in motion. The wraith-made boy made this book for me ­– his desperation to please, his misinterpretation of desires and his ultimate sacrifice. It makes me want to write a whole thesis on what makes a person a person in fantasy literature. (It’s the English nerd in me.)

If you’re a fan of YA fantasy, this is the book for you. The Mirror King blew all my expectations out of the water and I was left teary-eyed, heart full, at the end.

STARS: 5 out of 5

2 thoughts on “Mirror King by Jodi Meadows

  1. Pingback: June Recap and Book of the Month |

  2. Pingback: My Top Books of 2016 |

Leave a Reply

