The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

I’ve had The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey on my shelf for some time now. I purchased it when it first came out and even though I saw review after review declaring it’s awesomeness, I couldn’t pick it up. I was aliened out. I didn’t care to read another post-apocalyptic dystopian novel (I blame Veronica Roth and the heart-breaking ending of the Divergent series.). However, the movie for The 5th Wave recently released and I’m a read-the-book-before-seeing-the-movie kind of gal and it moved the book up on my reading list. And boy, was it worth it!

16101128After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother–or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.

All the reviews on this book were right. It was intriguing, exhilarating, heart-breaking, funny, sarcastic and crazy. It was a million things synonymous for fantastic. I fell into the pages of this book head-over-heels only looking up every once and awhile to declare “This is so good!” (True story. I have witnesses.)  The multiple POVs added a layer of complexity to this novel that I really enjoyed. It makes you wonder who’s truly evil? Who’s the real enemy? What makes you human?

This novel is a story of individuals who overcome all odds to survive in a world hell-bent on destroying them, where simple things like family, friendship and even life-long crushes are thrown into the bin marked “important to humanity.”  The foreboding writing style left me breathless in anticipation as we follow Cassie and others on their journey.

The relationship between Evan and Cassie grew quickly but I thought it fit the situation perfectly. I know other reviewers have complained that it was insta-love but I felt Evan’s bizarre behavior added to the mystery of who he is, was and could be. Plus, in post-apocalyptic life or death situations I think it would be insanely easy to fall for the last boy on earth, especially with the added bonus that he’s extremely good looking. Their connection was intense with a depth that can only come from dire circumstances. Evan had me swooning with some of the things he said.

“I had it all wrong,” he says. “Before I found you,I thought the only way to hold on was to find something to live for. It isn’t. To hold on, you have to find something you’re willing to die for.”

I really enjoyed this novel and I can’t wait to see what they do with the movie. I’ll definitely be reading the sequel, The Infinite Sea, which is available now.

STARS: 5 out of 5

Leave a Reply

