Unbound by Peggy Martinez

Unbound by Peggy Martinez is the third book in the Sage Hannigan Time Warper series and it’s just as heart-wrenching as the first two books.

27038077Bombs have rocked Sage Hannigan’s world.

All manner of preternaturals have exposed themselves to the human population and taken over, causing innumerable deaths and mass destruction worldwide. Now Sage is furious. She’s angry that lives were lost, that the Time Warper she was trying to save died, that people all over the world are going hungry, and most of all, she is enraged that the lives of everyone she loves are in danger because of her.

When her eyes are finally opened to the truth of who is behind all the chaos, she finds herself in a race against time to stop her most powerful adversary yet before it’s too late.

Too late for her, her friends, and too late for the world.

I’m deep enough into this series to be in love with these characters and Time Warper Sage has a handful of attractive, supernatural hotties to choose from. I’m pretty much attached to all of them and I have no idea how Sage will choose who to end up with. I thought I was Team Soren but now I’m leaning more towards Team Aldwin. It’s a bit frustrating really. However, no one is as infuriating as Sage Hannigan. She makes poor decisions. I mean they’re BAD. I can’t tell you how many times I wanted to throw my book across the room. She keeps pulling the if-you-love-me-you’ll-end-up-dying card and her potential mates are dropping like flies. In the first book, it was mysterious, dark Aldwin. In book two, I was swooning over vampire Soren. In this book, she abandons them all! At least that’s where this book starts off. I didn’t know how Peggy Martinez would pull it off but soon another man is in Sage’s life and I can’t help but fall in love with him too!

The best part about this novel was the rekindling with both Aldwin, where we find out more about his true nature, and Soren, where we see the consequences of his passion and anger. My favorite scene was Sage kicking ass in the land of Faerie, where some interesting, swoon-worthy stuff goes down. The consequences of Sage’s decisions grow each time she’s alone with anyone, and my heart breaks for the third wheel even as I’m cheering on the new pair.

My biggest issue with this book, and the whole series really, is there isn’t enough depth. I feel like this world is only just beginning and it’s book three. I expect to be fully immersed fairly quickly in a series. I want to know more about each character and their background, but the reader only gets to see quick glances and the story moves on. Regardless, this book is the best in the series by far. There was action and romance with a dash of mystery and intrigue.

The ending was heart-wrenching! I’ve come to just accept that Martinez’s endings will be a brutal blow to my heart. I have no idea what’s next for Sage but Martinez better work some necromancer magic. It can’t end like this! I’m eager to see what happens next. I wish Sage would make better decisions, but I’m just as much of a sucker for the men in her life that I’ll stick around to see what happens.

STARS: 4 out of 5

 

Leave a Reply

