Four Year Blogoversary and Bookish Resolutions

Four years.

I have been blogging at Note To Selph Book Reviews for FOUR years now. (I feel like I should be at a political rally chanting “Four more  years! Four more years!”)

blogoversary

I started this blog as a New Year’s resolution, and I have to say this is the most successful New Year’s resolution I’ve ever made.  It’s a bit hard to wrap my head around so let’s review my bookish resolutions from last year instead.

1. Keep Goodreads up to date. 

YESSuccess. For the most part, I made sure to keep Goodreads up to date and record books I read. This year, I read 81 books, which did not cut it for my goal of 100 books. I blame Grad school.

2. Update my blog.

victoryAnother great success. I did a blog makeover early last year and I love the way my new site looks.

3. Apply for more ARCs.

Belle booksI did so-so on this goal. I didn’t really apply for ARCs per se, but I did become a Clean Teen Publishing Elite Reader so I get to read free books in exchange for an honest review, which I think is progress.

4. Review More.

booksI wrote pretty much the same amount of reviews this year. I may have even reviewed less because I was so busy with grad school and work.

5. Post discussion posts.

typingI did post a few discussion posts over the past year. My favorite post was DNF and Lonely Stars: Why Negative Reviews Can be Positive. I’m hoping to write a lot more now that I have free time.

2016My 2016 bookish resolutions are as follows:

  1. Make it to 100 followers. Not going to lie, when I see people who’ve been blogging for less than a year that have thousands of follows, I want to nestle into my dark little corner of the internet and not show my face. However, I’ve never really focused on my blog with more than a frenzied effort fueled by book-induced endorphins and a passion for reading. So I’m going to cut myself some slack and put a real effort in this year to grow my blog since I’m done with Grad school. This resolution isn’t so much about followers but about finding new blog friends and sharing a dialogue with others, which leads me to my next resolution.
  2. Connect with more bloggers. I know they are out there, hell I’m one of them. I plan on finding blogs based on books I have read and comment/engage with other bloggers.
  3. Utilize Social Media and other review platforms. I am TERRIBLE about remembering to tweet and post on Facebook/Goodreads/amazon etc. I can’t even remember to post on my blog half the time, but I can’t connect with people if I don’t put myself out there. I am just forgetful so I’m hoping to be more strategic with my blog next year.
  4. Post more discussion posts. Yep, round two. I love to write. It’s what I do for a living and for fun in one way or another. Not only will discussion posts help me express my ideas but help me hone my craft in a creative way with topics I’m passionate about.
  5. Start a book club. That’s right. Not only do I want to talk about books with other bookish people on the internet but in person too. If you live in the Huntsville area and are interested in joining let me know! I have friends that read but they like different genres than me, but it may help me branch out more. I’m always looking to discover new books and authors!

Finally, if you are reading this THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU! It really means the world to me.

THANK YOU

2 thoughts on “Four Year Blogoversary and Bookish Resolutions

  1. Pingback: The Guest Room by Chris Bohjalian |

Leave a Reply

