Fated by Peggy Martinez

In the past few months or so, I became a Clean Teen Publishing Elite Reader, meaning I get a free book each month in exchange for an honest review. This is how I stumbled upon Fated by Peggy Martinez, which was promising but didn’t quite deliver.

25283575.jpgEighteen-year-old Sage Hannigan wants to get back to her own time, preferably one that hasn’t been destroyed by an underworld plot brewing in Edwardian-era South Carolina. How hard can it be?

All she has to do is:

1. Learn to use newly acquired warping skills to bend time to her will.
2. Take out a few rogue vampires.
3. Join an ancient secret society.
4. Figure out who is putting the time stream in jeopardy.
5. Find and maim whoever invented the corset.

Sage never asked to be chosen by the Druid Priestess, Amerach, to become a Warper, and she never asked to have the future hanging on her shoulders or to warp a hundred years into the past. She certainly never asked to meet Dr. Aldwin Blake, who would make her question her desire to get back to her own time. But if she fails her mission, people will die, history will change, and the present she wishes to return to will be no more.

After finishing this short novel (only 175 pages), I didn’t know how to feel. Did I like the book? Yes, but something was missing. This novel starts off slow but it picks up towards the end, where I was left wanting to read the sequel. I liked the book, but I didn’t love it.

I think one reason I didn’t fall in love with this book was the lack of character development. I felt like I didn’t really know the characters. The plot was great. The idea of a time warper was unique but the world around her could have been expanded upon. There were a few key moments when I felt sucked into the story during a certain scene with Vampire Soren and Sage when they were both vulnerable. I liked to see their vulnerability and that emotional buildup. The rest of the story kind of didn’t have that until the end.

As I said before, I was skeptical throughout the first book but I wanted to read the second book by the end. I’m hoping to see more character development and more emotions highlighted. Book one felt like a rocky but promising start to the series.

STARS: 3 out of 5

Leave a Reply

