Book Subscription Review: Uppercase Box

I’ve done it.

I finally caved.

I knew it was only a matter of time before I fell for another mail subscription for books. My first experience with Bookworm Box was great, but I decided to not reorder because I already had one of the books and the other wasn’t something I would read. After licking my wounds, I got back out there and subscribed to Uppercase Box, a monthly young adult book subscription that includes bookish items and a handwritten note with a newly released signed book.

I went back and forth about whether to order the subscription because it’s kind of expensive at $23 a month plus shipping. (I had major sad face when I realized it was more like 30 bucks than 20.) But on a day when I needed a serious pick-me-up, I clicked purchase for good ol’ retail therapy.

20151028_193452

When this box (which is really a bag in a soft envelope) arrived, it was like Christmas. I tore into it to see what treasures it held. It had some fun Alice in Wonderland goodies, some Lunar Chronicles-inspired tattoos (I need to read this series…STAT) and of course the book — First & Then by Emma Mills. My handwritten note described it as “Friday Night Lights meets Pride and Prejudice.”

First impression: I would never have picked up this book. Why? I have this strange strong dislike for typographic covers, where there isn’t any people just words and graphics. HOWEVER, after reading the synopsis, I think I’m really going to like this book. I mean I love Pride and Prejudice, so it must be good, right?

I love that these books are new releases so the likelihood that you get a book you already own is slim as long as you aren’t a pre-ordering fiend (which I am guilty of!).

My verdict? I don’t know yet. Once I read the novel, I’ll have a better idea if I like the kind of books that are given. I really enjoyed the bookish items and I am always down for some fun snail mail. I think I’ll wait a couple more times to get a real feel for it, but at $30 a month, I’m not sure how long this will last, especially because I have an ungodly amount of books I haven’t read already and adding another book per month to the stack kind of gives me anxiety. However, these books are signed or come with signed book plates so if you’re into autographed copies, this is the way to go.

One thought on “Book Subscription Review: Uppercase Box

Leave a Reply

