Rocket City Lit Fest 2015

Recently, I participated in the first ever Rocket City Lit Fest in Huntsville, Ala. It’s been a personal goal of mine to get out to more book events and one located in my neck of the woods was another perfect opportunity to fangirl about books in a public setting.

Left to Right: My Friend Alyssa, Jenny Lawson and me.

Left to Right: My Friend Alyssa, Jenny Lawson and me.

The most notably speaker was Jenny Lawson, who recently released her new book Furiously Happy: A Funny Book About Horrible Things. To be honest, I’m not much of a nonfiction reader, but I felt obligated to buy a copy and get it signed (because, ya know, bookish street cred) and I’m so glad I did because I’m really enjoying it so far. It’s being promoted as a hysterical, ridiculous book about crippling depression and anxiety, and sadly this is just what I need!

As always, I attacked the vendor hall with my budgeted cash and had a blast meeting tons of new authors, some local, others more well-known. I love to support indie authors and meeting people who are following their dream of writing. It is very inspiring. I discovered some awesome authors and their books such as:20151028_193218_001

  • Rescued by Larynn Ford (It’s about shifters. Enough said.)
  • The Movie Star’s Red Hot Holiday Fling by Christine Glover (Female marine dealing with PTSD and hot action star? Yes, please!)
  • The Light of Asteria by Elizabeth Isaacs (Such a pretty cover!)
  • Saving Evangeline by Nancee Cain (Another naughty priest novel. Bring it on!)
  • Keeper by Ingrid Seymour (An intriguing YA fantasy)
  • The Forest Bull by Terry Maggert (TBH, I bought this because the author seemed so cool!)
  • Furiously Happy by Jenny Lawson (see above)
  • Not Pictured: Outlaw by Nicole James (Hot Bikers. You’re welcome.)

I’ve already read Christine Glover and Nicole James, and both books were amazing. I immediately purchased more of the author’s books. Reviews to come.

I went to a few panels, but my favorite was a screening of a documentary called “Love Between The Covers,” which features popular romance novelists and the impact of the romance genre on the publishing industry. Basically, romance dominates the book market and without romance, the industry wouldn’t be thriving. I loved how the documentary focused on how romance is looked down upon as a genre and explores why this is. My favorite line? It’s looked down upon because it’s a genre “made for women, by women.”  I may be hyper-sensitive to feminist ideals since I’m taking a feminism graduate class but it was super interesting.

Since this was the first one, the attendance wasn’t as much as I was expecting but it made for shorter lines. I am expecting this event to grow year after year. I’ll be going back next year for sure. I’m not sure what else to share so I’ll leave you with this picture of me and my man Edgar.

20151010_103426

I’m just a poe boy from a poe family

Leave a Reply

