The Year We Fell Down by Sarina Bowen

The Year We Fell Down by Sarina Bowen is one of those books that I heard about randomly throughout the blogosphere that people swore was amazing…and they were right.

20896313The sport she loves is out of reach. The boy she loves has someone else.

What now?

She expected to start Harkness College as a varsity ice hockey player. But a serious accident means that Corey Callahan will start school in a wheelchair instead.

Across the hall, in the other handicapped-accessible dorm room, lives the too-delicious-to-be real Adam Hartley, another would-be hockey star with his leg broken in two places. He’s way out of Corey’s league.

Also, he’s taken.

Nevertheless, an unlikely alliance blooms between Corey and Hartley in the “gimp ghetto” of McHerrin Hall. Over tequila, perilously balanced dining hall trays, and video games, the two cope with disappointments that nobody else understands.

They’re just friends, of course, until one night when things fall apart. Or fall together. All Corey knows is that she’s falling. Hard.

But will Hartley set aside his trophy girl to love someone as broken as Corey? If he won’t, she will need to find the courage to make a life for herself at Harkness — one which does not revolve around the sport she can no longer play, or the brown-eyed boy who’s afraid to love her back.

I’m not sure what this says about me, but I was immediately hesitant when I read the synopsis. I’m not a fan of “sick  lit” (Like TFIOS), so I didn’t want a depressing read, but this book is anything but. It’s witty, funny and full of snark. I fell in love with Corey, as she honestly and humorously shares the plight of a college student in a wheel chair. There must have been MAJOR research for this book or Sarina Bowen is that good, because this book was detailed. I haven’t checked anything but I’m sure if I did all the hospital procedures and therapy talk would be spot on.

This book was so heartfelt and entertaining. I loved the ease in which Corey and Hartley strike a friendship, and the witty banter between them was so much fun. As their relationship slowly progressed, I was going back and forth between swooning and screaming in outrage as Hartley struggled to make a decision about what was important to him. I felt for Corey, but she was a trooper and I loved her for it. I laughed so hard throughout this story because Corey was just hilarious and she had the best comebacks.

I read this book in one day. It was well-paced and beautifully arranged as Corey and Hartley’s relationship turns into something both of them never expected. This book had tons of feels but never actually made me cry so I can’t give it a full five stars. Definitely the perfect summer read, but clear your schedule because you’ll want to read it in one sitting.

STARS: 4.5 out of 5

Leave a Reply

