A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas is one of my favorite reads of 2015, if not the best book I’ve read so far this year.

16096824A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

Sarah J. Maas creates pure magic in this beauty and the beast retelling, and in true Sarah fashion, she makes the beast more mysterious and intriguing, and beauty more badass. I was sucked in from the very first page. It’s like every time I open one of Maas’s books, I fall down the rabbit hole, only to surface out of breath with my mind completely blown.

For a retelling, this book feels incredibly original. Maas’s take on this classic fairy tale is wondrously beautiful, full of gorgeous scenery and dark, disturbing danger. This book had me flipping it’s pages faster and faster as the story unfolded, beginning with the adrenaline rush of the beast’s entrance to the heart-dropping conclusion as Feyre fights for the love of her life.

The relationship between Feyre and Tamlin (the beast) was beautifully done and well-paced. I felt Feyre’s fury and fear as she faced entrapment at Tamlin’s castle, but I also fell head of heels for Tamlin as he, bit by bit, exposed his true kind, loving, selfless self to Feyre. The romance in this book is steamy and I read with bated breath each romantic interaction.

The secondary characters in this book were a treat, Lucien, Tamilin’s right-hand man, was a snarky ass that I loved to hate and hated to love. Rhysand from the night court was unbelievably intriguing; his role in the story is so mysterious and I want more and more and more of him! Plus, the last scene with him left me so bewildered. What does it mean?!? (Seriously, if you know, please enlighten me in the comments. I’m dying to know.)

The first part of this book was amazing, covering all the necessary plot points to be a retelling, but then Maas does the impossible and continues the story throwing in death-defying stunts, sacrificial love and the most excruciating tension I’ve ever experienced reading before in my life. Feyre is a badass and the steps she takes for the love of her life stole my breath and kept me on the edge of my seat. It was so much fun to read! I’m not going to say anymore because the last part of the book is worth the surprise.

This is one of the best books I’ve ever read. It has everything I look for in a novel, plus more. I’m a huge fan of Sarah J. Maas and her badass heroines, shirtless heros and kickass storytelling skills. YOU MUST READ THIS!

STARS: 5 out of 5 

4 thoughts on “A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Pingback: Cinder by Marissa Meyer |

  2. Pingback: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas |

  3. Pingback: 5 Book Quotes That Help Me with Anxiety |

  4. Pingback: Releases and Recommendations: A Court of Wings and Ruin |

Leave a Reply

