Fallen Too Far by Abbi Glines

This is going to be an uncharacteristically blunt and exasperated review.

16070903 To want what you’re not supposed to have…

She is only nineteen.

She is his new stepfather’s daughter.

She is still naïve and innocent due to spending the last three years taking care of her sick mother.

But for twenty-four year old Rush Finlay, she is the only thing that has ever been off limits. His famous father’s guilt money, his mother’s desperation to win his love, and his charm are the three reasons he has never been told no.

Blaire Wynn left her small farmhouse in Alabama, after her mother passed away, to move in with her father and his new wife in their sprawling beach house along the Florida gulf coast. She isn’t prepared for the lifestyle change and she knows she’ll never fit into this world. Then there is her sexy stepbrother who her father leaves her with for the summer while he runs off to Paris with his wife. Rush is as spoiled as he is gorgeous. He is also getting under her skin. She knows he is anything but good for her and that he’ll never be faithful to anyone. He is jaded and has secrets Blaire knows she may never uncover but even knowing all of that…

Blaire just may have fallen too far.

First, I have to tell you about the secret to the universe I discovered. I’ve been trying to get myself to run everyday (I used to race Cross Country/Track so you’d think it would be easy for me but it isn’t.). So I decided to try audiobooks for the first time and it’s like magic. The first day, I ran three miles before I even THOUGHT to turn around and go home. That’s how enthralled I was in listening to the book. Just try it! I’ll never go back!

My first audiobook choice was Fallen Too Far by Abbi Glines. Now, I’m wondering if listening instead of reading affected my feelings toward the book, but it was mainly the content that was cause for concern so I blame the book mostly, but listening to a female narrator whisper sweet nothings as the male character was bizarre.

Fallen Too Far went too far. I will say I was on the edge of my seat (running shoes?) while I was reading. I wanted to see what happened between Rush and Blaire. Initially, it was the douchebag rich guy dissing the pretty but poor girl. I’m not a huge fan of this trope, but I enjoy the romance genre so you kind of have to deal with it. Anyway, the book started out okay, it got really interesting and then it just got ridiculous. I was blown away at the audacity of this book. The unrealistic representation of a good, healthy relationship and the irresponsibility of the characters had me wtf-ing.chris-rock-huh-face

My biggest issue with this book was the sex scenes, or more likely the i-can’t-believe-people-think-this-is-okay-and-OMG-young-impressionable-girls-may-be-reading-this!! The first time Rush and Blaire get it on, they are in the “heat of the moment” and forget to use protection. When he asks if she’s on birth control, she says no and instead of hauling her ass to the local pharmacy for some Plan B, he just says “oh, we can’t do that again.” (Attention Young Impressionable Girls, you should not do this. You will get preggers!)The second time it happens, they don’t have protection and decide to “just pull out.” At this point in my reading (run), I want to punch somebody. (Again, Attention Young Impressionable Girls, YOU WILL GET PREGGERS!!!!) I just don’t understand why you would put this in the book unless the whole point of the story was the main female character gets pregnant. This irresponsible sexual behavior makes me want to burn this book. Some people won’t know that this is fiction and think this is okay because “Rush and Blaire did it.”

Who knows, the second book may be about Blaire’s first pregnancy. Fallen Too Far ends on a strange, bizarre, unsatisfying cliffhanger and I won’t be reading book two to find out. Blaire was so misguided, constantly putting herself down and doing all the wrong things for all the wrong reasons. Rush was a douchebag manwhore who had sex with multiple women while pursuing Blaire (not sexy!) and he had crazy mood swings. Overall, the plot had a crazy, unrealistic plot twist and when it was revealed, everyone is more concerned about a dead person’s reputation then the fact that Rush and Blaire (who’ve been sleeping together) are related!!!!!Jenna-Marbles-I-Can't-Even

I can’t even with this book. I really wanted to like this series and this author but I just can’t stand behind such a messed up storyline with fucked up characters and unnecessary idiotic behavior.

STARS: 1 out of 5

2 thoughts on “Fallen Too Far by Abbi Glines

Leave a Reply

