That Time I Met Sarah J. Maas

So last weekend I got to meet one of my favorite authors — Sarah J. Maas.

def5754ea480bf1bb3247d751ac69efc

She’s the author of the Throne of Glass Series (Throne of Glass, Crown of Midnight, and Heir of Fire with Queen of Shadows coming September 1! ) and her newest book A Court of Thorns and Roses, which is the reason she was at Parnassus Books in Nashville, TN for a book signing. When I found out she would be doing a book signing somewhere within driving distance, I was ecstatic! I forced my husband to come and I got there super early to make sure I got a good spot. This tiny independent bookstore was packed!!  I was nervous about the book signing because I completely embarrass myself when I meet authors. To me, authors are like bonafide rock stars or uber famous celebrities. I can’t contain the hyperventilating, giggling and inability to form coherent sentences. Anyway, all I can say is Sarah J. Maas is as badass as her heroines and she’s a really cool chick.

The discussion time was great and here’s a few things I learned that I thought it would be cool to share:

  • Her favorite fantasy trope: At the moment it’s strong female friendships. She wants to see “more girls supporting girls in Fantasy.”
  • Her advice to aspiring writers: The small details carry the most weight.
  • Her writing “process”: She says she doesn’t have a process, but described it as vomiting onto the page. (This girl was hilarious and now I can stop beating myself up at my lack of “process” in my own writing.)
  • Books she recommends: (All of these are now on my to-read list.) Darkest Minds and Passenger by Alexandra Bracken and Truthwitch by Susan Dennard.

Sarah is really, really nice in person, which made waiting in line to get my book signed totally worth it. She even has her readers sign her copy of Throne of Glass, which was pretty awesome. Also, I didn’t embarrass myself (that I know of) when I finally got to get my booked signed. She’s also insanely gorgeous, super funny and I totally want to be her.

Book signing with Sarah J. Maas

Sarah J. Maas and Me!

I’ll admit that I’ve already devoured A Court of Thorns and Roses. It’s one of my top ten books of 2015 for sure. Review to come but most definitely put it on your to-read list!

One thought on “That Time I Met Sarah J. Maas

  1. So jealous! I would love to meet Sarah J. Maas. I read A Court of Thorns and Roses earlier this month and am currently reading The Assassin’s Blade, both of which are great.

Leave a Reply

