The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury

I was immediately drawn to the gorgeous cover of The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury. When I found out it was about a girl who could kill with a single touch? I was sold.

22536448Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the court.

She’s the executioner.

As the Goddess embodied, Twylla instantly kills anyone she touches. Each month she’s taken to the prison and forced to lay her hands on those accused of treason. No one will ever love a girl with murder in her veins. Even the prince, whose royal blood supposedly makes him immune to Twylla’s fatal touch, avoids her company.

But then a new guard arrives, a boy whose easy smile belies his deadly swordsmanship. And unlike the others, he’s able to look past Twylla’s executioner robes and see the girl, not the Goddess. Yet Twylla’s been promised to the prince, and knows what happens to people who cross the queen.

However, a treasonous secret is the least of Twylla’s problems. The queen has a plan to destroy her enemies, a plan that requires a stomach-churning, unthinkable sacrifice. Will Twylla do what it takes to protect her kingdom? Or will she abandon her duty in favor of a doomed love?

This book was an interesting ride. I was drawn in from the very first page. The storytelling was spot on, the author described Twylla’s complex world without info dumping and created a connection to the characters almost immediately. I was in Twylla’s world from the very first touch, as in the first execution scene where Twylla’s deadly touch kills traitors to the kingdom. This story had an original premise with unique characteristics. I thoroughly enjoyed the Sin Eater part, although sin eating was surprisingly a bigger part of the story than I thought it should be based on the plot.

Twylla’s relationships with the Prince and her guard, Leif, were interesting progressions. I was skeptical of the Prince but immediately fell for Leif and his killer smile. Twylla’s forbidden romance with Leif caused my heart to soar and squeeze in anxiety with fear that they were going to get caught. Once things really take off, I was just as torn as Twylla when the Prince begged for her help.

In truth, I was totally on board with this book and 100 percent into it…until the end. There are unexpected twists at the end of this tale that put a sour taste in my mouth. Granted, it added a complexity and conflict to the story, but it turned everything upside down. And then the confusing-as-hell epilogue. I’m not quite sure what happened but all I could think was: When did she learn to read? This is the first book in a series so I’m interested to see what happens in book two. (What could happen is the question.) I’ll continue reading this series, but the longer I think about the book, the ending killed the magic for me.

STARS: 4 out of 5

Leave a Reply

