Sanguine Mountain by Jennifer Foxcroft

Sanguine Mountain, the debut novel by Jennifer Foxcroft, brought me so much joy. That’s the only way I can describe it because it was such a unique and exciting love story.

25050787Connie Phillips has never told a lie—until now.

An anonymous letter shatters the world Connie thought she knew and trusted. The news that her parents aren’t really her own leaves her angry, devastated and alone. The search for the truth leads her down a dark, desolate forest road where she meets a boy in the shadows who has secrets of his own.

Rockland’s life has been ruled by an ancient curse since the day he was born. Forever labeled a misfit and a rebel, he is desperate to convince his leaders that integration with the modern world will be the salvation of their kind—not their demise.

After their worlds collide in the middle of a dark forest, Connie and Rocks strike a deal to help each other find the answers they both need—away from her lying parents and the judgmental sneers of his colony. But, can they find love on their journey to discover who they are and where they belong in the world?

Foxcroft’s writing style was fun, fresh and witty. I loved the story’s concept and world-building.

I loved the main character Connie. She was hilarious. I loved her inner dialogue. I found myself laughing out loud, drawing stares from the disapproving audience at my house (My cat and Husband.) Rocks was a mysteriously attractive character, as in he was mysterious and good looking but also a character that I gravitated to. I loved how his character wasn’t cliché. He was the nice guy, not the typical bad boy his appearance portrayed. Now I have a confession to make here. I used to have an obsession with bats and I may or may not have had an emo stage in High School, so Rocks had it going on as far as I was concerned.

The secret behind Rocks’ family was intriguing and original. I loved the pressure and conflict created by Rocks’ desire to please his family but also follow his heart. Connie and Rocks were so cute together and I loved how attached I was to Rocks’ siblings in such a short amount of time. The twist at the end had my heart-pounding. The ending left me crying out dramatically for book two, drawing more stares from my cat who was still on my lap at this point. I read this book in one sitting; it was that good.

Jennifer Foxcroft is such a talented writer and I can’t wait to see what she comes up with next. I need book two pronto. (My heart can’t take it!) I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves a good Young Adult paranormal romance. I had the pleasure of meeting Jennifer at the UtopYA 2014 conference and I’m so glad I did.

STARS: 5 out of 5

Thank you Jennifer Foxcroft for a copy in exchange for an honest review!

2 thoughts on “Sanguine Mountain by Jennifer Foxcroft

  1. Pingback: Sanguine Moon by Jennifer Foxcroft |

Leave a Reply

