Manwhore by Katy Evans

I know what you’re thinking. Who reads a book titled Manwhore? I thought the same thing until I read an excerpt of Katy Evans’ latest book and I instantly had to pre-order it. She had me at “Dibs.”

22892122Is it possible to expose Chicago’s hottest player—without getting played?

This is the story I’ve been waiting for all my life, and its name is Malcolm Kyle Preston Logan Saint. Don’t be fooled by that last name though. There’s nothing holy about the man except the hell his parties raise. The hottest entrepreneur Chicago has ever known, he’s a man’s man with too much money to spend and too many women vying for his attention.

Mysterious. Privileged. Legendary. His entire life he’s been surrounded by the press as they dig for tidbits to see if his fairytale life is for real or all mirrors and social media lies. Since he hit the scene, his secrets have been his and his alone to keep. And that’s where I come in.

Assigned to investigate Saint and reveal his elusive personality, I’m determined to make him the story that will change my career.

But I never imagined he would change my life. Bit by bit, I start to wonder if I’m the one discovering him…or if he’s uncovering me.

What happens when the man they call Saint, makes you want to sin?

This book practically knocked me on my ass at how good it was. I’ve read Katy Evans’ Real and although I enjoyed it, it wasn’t mind blowing. Evans writing style has really matured in this book. I can see how she’s grown as a writer since her first novel and I love what I’m reading.

Starting out, I thought this book was the typical alpha male meets young girl story. It was like typical, typical, typical…until it wasn’t. All the sudden Saint and Rachel had gotten under my skin and I legitimately cared about their relationship. I wanted to see them happy and together. I can’t describe how it happened. I just couldn’t put it down and the story was on my mind long after the last page was turned.

Both Saint and Rachel are the stereotypical characters but they have a depth to them that I can’t explain. I loved how the romance between them slowly bloomed even though their chemistry was intense. I was a little annoyed at Rachel’s friends but that was really the only thing I didn’t like. Manwhore is one of those books that you can’t let go of, where you can’t read the next book on your to-be-read list because Saint and Rachel still occupy your mind. It was surprisingly good.

This book is definitely for fans of Fifty Shades and Sylvia Day’s Crossfire series, it even has the same type of cliffhanger. (Which had me throwing my book across the room. Why you do me like that, Evans?) Thankfully there will be more books but now I have to wait.

STARS: 5 out of 5

Advertisements

Confess by Colleen Hoover

Page 10 had me bawling. (I think that’s a record for me.) Page 49 had me laughing my butt off. By the end, Confess by Colleen Hoover had my emotions put through the ringer and it. was. awesome.

22609310 Auburn Reed has her entire life mapped out. Her goals are in sight and there’s no room for mistakes. But when she walks into a Dallas art studio in search of a job, she doesn’t expect to find a deep attraction to the enigmatic artist who works there, Owen Gentry.

For once, Auburn takes a risk and puts her heart in control, only to discover Owen is keeping major secrets from coming out. The magnitude of his past threatens to destroy everything important to Auburn, and the only way to get her life back on track is to cut Owen out of it.

The last thing Owen wants is to lose Auburn, but he can’t seem to convince her that truth is sometimes as subjective as art. All he would have to do to save their relationship is confess. But in this case, the confession could be much more destructive than the actual sin…

I’m not sure where to start with this review. I read Confess in one sitting, unaware that the sun had gone down and I had to be up in 4.3 hours for work. The book sucked me in to the point that I didn’t notice and I didn’t care. I had to see what happened with Auburn and Owen’s story.

Auburn and Owen both have issues.  Beautifully-broken and at times unnervingly naïve, these two aren’t able to fight the connection they feel, a connection which Hoover crafted with great care and made my sigh at the end of the novel that much deeper.

The story had my stomach in knots but the way that Hoover resolves it was brilliant and perfect. The fusion between the written word and art was awe-inspiring. How does she do that? She always meshes two things together so beautifully in a unique and innovative way. But she still keeps the fundamentals of a great love story. Man, I enjoyed this book so, so much.

Colleen Hoover does it again. Everything this woman writes is gold.

STARS: 5 out of 5

Sanguine Mountain by Jennifer Foxcroft

Sanguine Mountain, the debut novel by Jennifer Foxcroft, brought me so much joy. That’s the only way I can describe it because it was such a unique and exciting love story.

25050787Connie Phillips has never told a lie—until now.

An anonymous letter shatters the world Connie thought she knew and trusted. The news that her parents aren’t really her own leaves her angry, devastated and alone. The search for the truth leads her down a dark, desolate forest road where she meets a boy in the shadows who has secrets of his own.

Rockland’s life has been ruled by an ancient curse since the day he was born. Forever labeled a misfit and a rebel, he is desperate to convince his leaders that integration with the modern world will be the salvation of their kind—not their demise.

After their worlds collide in the middle of a dark forest, Connie and Rocks strike a deal to help each other find the answers they both need—away from her lying parents and the judgmental sneers of his colony. But, can they find love on their journey to discover who they are and where they belong in the world?

Foxcroft’s writing style was fun, fresh and witty. I loved the story’s concept and world-building.

I loved the main character Connie. She was hilarious. I loved her inner dialogue. I found myself laughing out loud, drawing stares from the disapproving audience at my house (My cat and Husband.) Rocks was a mysteriously attractive character, as in he was mysterious and good looking but also a character that I gravitated to. I loved how his character wasn’t cliché. He was the nice guy, not the typical bad boy his appearance portrayed. Now I have a confession to make here. I used to have an obsession with bats and I may or may not have had an emo stage in High School, so Rocks had it going on as far as I was concerned.

The secret behind Rocks’ family was intriguing and original. I loved the pressure and conflict created by Rocks’ desire to please his family but also follow his heart. Connie and Rocks were so cute together and I loved how attached I was to Rocks’ siblings in such a short amount of time. The twist at the end had my heart-pounding. The ending left me crying out dramatically for book two, drawing more stares from my cat who was still on my lap at this point. I read this book in one sitting; it was that good.

Jennifer Foxcroft is such a talented writer and I can’t wait to see what she comes up with next. I need book two pronto. (My heart can’t take it!) I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves a good Young Adult paranormal romance. I had the pleasure of meeting Jennifer at the UtopYA 2014 conference and I’m so glad I did.

STARS: 5 out of 5

Thank you Jennifer Foxcroft for a copy in exchange for an honest review!

MOVIE REVIEW: Furious 7

Furious 7 is the seventh movie in the Fast & Furious franchise starring mega stars Vin Diesel and Paul Walker among many, many other names. This is Paul Walker’s last movie, who sadly died in a tragic car accident. The producers for this movie really pulled out all the stops.

Furious-7

I’ve been a fan of these movies since the beginning. I love fast cars and I’ve had a crush on Vin Diesel and Paul Walker since I was old enough to like boys.

Just when you think there is no more story to tell, there is a new threat to Dom’s family and he’s not going to let that fly. Brian O’Connor is a new daddy. Letty is struggling with not remembering her past and the rest of the family is all there. Danger leads the crew on a new adventure and it takes them around the world, most notably a stop in Abu Dhabi. (Cars do fly. Twice.) There was even a shout out to the third (and often forgotten) movie Tokyo Drift when they stop in Tokyo.

This movie has all the death-defying stunts and crazy hand-to-hand combat scenes you’d ever want. They really raised the bar (again) but almost to the point of unnecessariness (Is that a word?). However, the viewers have come to expect extraordinary even if it isn’t physically possible. There are badass cars and hot girls, but surprisingly limited racing. There is a lot more fighting action in this one. It was also hilarious. Tyrese Gibson and Ludacris were on pointe with the humor as well as Dwayne Johnson. The plot was surprisingly fresh despite the amount of movies in this franchise. It was true to the characters and was the right amount of serious and funny.

The ending was a beautiful tribute to Paul Walker. I was bawling in the middle of the theater. It was so touching. The producers could have simply put a “For Paul Walker” but they went the extra mile showing footage from earlier Fast & Furious movies, which played while Vin Diesel’s voiceover talked of family and never saying goodbye.

It was a thoroughly entertaining, show-stopping, heart-wrenching movie. Definitely go see it!

Hopeless by Colleen Hoover

I am a huge fan of Colleen Hoover. Every book I’ve ever read from her has a deep, well-developed story with tons of feels. Hopeless was no different.

15717943Sometimes discovering the truth can leave you more hopeless than believing the lies…

That’s what seventeen-year-old Sky realizes after she meets Dean Holder. A guy with a reputation that rivals her own and an uncanny ability to invoke feelings in her she’s never had before. He terrifies her and captivates her all in the span of just one encounter, and something about the way he makes her feel sparks buried memories from a past that she wishes could just stay buried.

Sky struggles to keep him at a distance knowing he’s nothing but trouble, but Holder insists on learning everything about her. After finally caving to his unwavering pursuit, Sky soon finds that Holder isn’t at all who he’s been claiming to be. When the secrets he’s been keeping are finally revealed, every single facet of Sky’s life will change forever.

Woah! Hopeless was intense because it was so well-crafted and complex. From the moment Sky meets Holder, their undeniable (and believable) connection is intriguing and their subsequent meetings add fuel to the fire. By the end of this novel, Sky goes through an incredible transformation. So much so, that after the last page I stood looking at the book in disbelief wondering how so much can happen so perfectly in only 406 pages. (Granted, that is a lot of pages but it went by so quickly!)

The cause and effect of this book continuously stacks on each other as the story unfolds, making this story impossible to put down. The chemistry between Holder and Sky is off the charts and each character’s self-awareness was a refreshing part of the story.

This story made me laugh out loud, especially the fainting scene early on. The combination of writing and sky’s personality was too much. I loved it! This story also made me gasp in disbelief, many times. This story has twist after twist; ones that  I  didn’t see coming and ones that I saw coming a mile away and I still jumped from shock. This story was unforgettable.

You can never go wrong with Colleen Hoover. This story is a beautifully moving tale of love despite the confusion of life’s painful truths.

STARS: 5 out of 5