Sacrifice by Brigid Kemmerer

Note: I reviewed the first book in this series Storm but I read the rest of the series so fast that this review for the last book is basically a review for the whole series.

I’m still reeling from the last book in Brigid Kemmerer’s Elemental series. I liked Sacrifice but I was also left wanting. I’m not sure if there are plans to continue the series, but there are no more brothers to talk about unless it’s continued with the newer character Irish (whom I was mysteriously intrigued by).

17149158Earth. Fire. Air. Water.

One misstep and they lose it all. For the last time.

Michael Merrick understands pressure. He’s the only parent his three brothers have had for years. His power to control Earth could kill someone if he miscalculates. Now an Elemental Guide has it in for his family, and he’s all that stands in the way.

His girlfriend, Hannah, understands pressure too. She’s got a child of her own, and a job as a firefighter that could put her life in danger at any moment.

But there are people who have had enough of Michael’s defiance, his family’s ‘bad luck’. Before he knows it, Michael’s enemies have turned into the Merricks’ enemies, and they’re armed for war.

They’re not interested in surrender. But Michael isn’t the white flag type anyway. Everything is set for the final showdown.

Four elements, one family. Will they hold together, or be torn apart?

Kemmerer does not back down from tough content. She talks about real life issues in a very realistic way. Things such as drugs, sexual orientation, rape and death, Kemmerer faces them all head on and I love her for it. For a story about supernatural powers, this series is surprisingly human, emotionally driven and based on a family foundation.

I loved these brothers. All so very different and I commend Kemmerer for creating such unique characters that were similar enough to be brothers but different enough to create and maintain their own storylines within the series. I think Gabriel’s story was my favorite because it was laugh out loud funny. I wanted more from Michael’s story but it was so very raw and emotional. Nick’s had such great growth and triumph, and who could forget Chris, whose story started it all. Hunter was also such an amazing and deep character.

I highly recommend this series to anyone who likes character driven stories with sweet romances and heart-pounding action scenes. I fell in love with the Merrick family and you will too.

STARS: 4 out of 5

2 thoughts on “Sacrifice by Brigid Kemmerer

  1. I’m glad you enjoyed this series! That ending though was far too open-ended! I read somewhere that Kemmerer wanted to write more in the Elemental world, but had other projects to work on first. I think overall Gabriel’s story ended up being my favorite…”Then I’m going to need another fifteen minutes…”

Leave a Reply

