Immortal Beloved by Cate Tiernan

I’ve heard great things about Immortal Beloved by Cate Teirnan and I’ve had the book sitting on my shelf for sometime before I actually got around to read it. However, it wasn’t as good as I hoped.

7823549Nastasya has spent the last century living as a spoiled, drugged-out party girl. She feels nothing and cares for no one. But when she witnesses her best friend, a Dark Immortal, torture a human, she realizes something’s got to change. She seeks refuge at a rehab for wayward immortals, where she meets the gorgeous, undeniably sexy Reyn, who seems inexplicably linked to her past.

Nastasya finally begins to deal with life, and even feels safe–until the night she learns that someone wants her dead.

Cate Tiernan, author of the popular Sweep series, returns with an engaging story of a timeless struggle and inescapable romance, the first book in a stunning new fantasy trilogy.

I can’t really pinpoint why I didn’t enjoy this book. It was good, but not great. The cover is really cool and I’m usually all for stories regarding immortals. This one just didn’t work for me.

Nastasya and Reyn’s love story begins waaaay back when they each didn’t realize what they were. With a dark past and a turbulent present, the two meet at a immortal rehab facility of sorts. This was probably my first issue with the book. I understood they needed to be rehabilitated, but for what? from what? There wasn’t really an end goal where they could be cured. The relationship between both of them was tense, but not really a good kind of tension more like uncomfortable confusion. The author left the readers in the dark far too long. Once the secret angst between them is revealed, I didn’t really buy it. There wasn’t chemistry between them or at least it didn’t sizzle off the pages like I thought it should.

I really like the history part of their past. In fact, I’d rather read a book about their past not their present. This is the first book in a trilogy but I don’t think I’ll continue it.

STARS: 2 out of 5

Leave a Reply

