Three Year Blogoversary and Resolutions!!

Birthday-cupcakeToday is my three year blogoversary! Note To Selph Book Reviews started three years ago when I made a new year’s resolution to finally start a blog. I can’t believe it’s already been three years! I’ve been MIA recently because of the holidays but I’ve been reading up a storm so be looking for many reviews in the near future.

Last year, I made resolutions for my blog, let’s see how I did.

1. Participate in a book challenge.

failed

 

 

 

 

 

So…I didn’t really accomplish this one. Technically, I could say I completed a To-Be-Read Shelf challenge but I didn’t really try so I consider this resolution a complete and utter failure. However, I don’t think I like the structure and pressure of a challenge. I’m a mood reader so it’s difficult to force myself to read something I’m not in the mood for. Plus, I tend to give books I’m “just not in the mood” for a worse rating, so I don’t try to push it.

2. Attend a book event.

dbltwrk

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

MISSION ACCOMPLISHED! I attended the UtopYA event in Nashville, which was the BEST EXPERINCE. You can read about it HERE. I met so many new authors and bloggers. I got to meet Sylvia Day! Plus, it inspired me to try writing my own novel which I attempted during NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month). I got 37,000 words written on an epic undertaking that can only be described as the Hunger Games meets the Bachelor with Shifters. (I know, crazy right?) Not sure what I’ll do with it when I’m done but it was sure fun to write!

3. Get more into the blog community.

hi

 

 

 

 

Okay, I tried. I didn’t comment nearly as much as I wanted to and I didn’t get to explore as many other blogs, BUT I did start following a few really cool blogs, such as Stephanie’s Book Reviews and Maf’s Crazy Book Life. I trust these two ladies opinions whole-heartedly since we share similar tastes. If they say to read it, I usually do. I also enjoy Tsk, Tsk, What to Read because she always has tons of new book releases with excerpts and I end of buying the book. As always, I have to read my daily dose of book reviews/posts every morning, without them I can’t function.

4. Review More.

7844598

 

 

 

 

 

 

I kind of stayed the same this year. I averaged the same amount of reviews, but I was really bad about binge-reading and forgetting to write reviews and forgetting what I liked/didn’t like about the books, so I’ll try harder in 2015.

5. Host a Giveaway.

crushed-it

 

 

 

Last year, I hosted a giveaway when I presented last year’s resolutions. CRUSHED IT!

 

This Year’s NEW Resolutions:

1. Keep my Goodreads Updated. I really wanted to put together an end-of-year survey but I couldn’t figure out how many books I actually read and I couldn’t keep track of what I read but didn’t review. For an organized person, my reading habits are very unorganized, which really doesn’t make sense because my actual bookshelves are organized not only by genre but by author and whether they’ve been read or not. I want to update Goodreads so I know what books I’ve read.

2. Update my blog. I am not as tech savvy as I wish I was, but I really want to update my blog at some point. It just takes so much time to do the research and figure out how to actually do it. Let me know if you have any tips!!

3. Review More. I want to review every book I read. It doesn’t have to be a full-size review but it would be nice to remember what I actually thought of the books.

4. Apply for more ARCs. It makes my day when I receive an ARC (especially if it’s a physical copy). I want to have that feeling more often. It’s always awesome to read the book before it’s officially published. I’m going to do my best to prowl NetGalley for books I’m interested in reading.

5. Post more Discussion Posts. I LOVE to talk about books, so I’m hoping to discuss my various bookish problems/habits when the mood strikes. I’m thinking of starting a monthly/bi-monthly discussion post, but I struggle with juggling my time with Grad School and work.

There you have it! If you are reading this, THANK YOU SO MUCH. It means the world to me that people read my blog. I’m always looking for fellow book lover friends so feel free to leave a comment or hit me up on twitter! (@notetoselphbook)rdj_thanks

2 thoughts on “Three Year Blogoversary and Resolutions!!

  1. Happy Blogoversary! And thanks for the shout out! Good luck on your resolutions. I need to review more, too. And I want to start requesting physical copies of arcs instead of just NetGalley. I’m not really sure how to go about that, though.

Leave a Reply

