I Want It That Way by Ann Aguirre

I was blessed to receive a copy of I Want It That Way by Ann Aguirre. It arrived in the mail on a day when I really needed a pick-me-up. I devoured it in one sitting. This is the first Contemporary Romance that I’ve read from Aguirre (I’ve read and loved her YA Razorland series.), and I was really impressed.

untitledNadia Conrad has big dreams, and she’s determined to make them come true—for her parents’ sake as well as her own. But between maintaining her college scholarship and working at the local day care to support herself, she barely has time to think, let alone date. Then she moves into a new apartment and meets the taciturn yet irresistible guy in 1B….

Daniel Tyler has grown up too fast. Becoming a single dad at twenty turned his life upside down—and brought him heartache he can’t risk again. Now, as he raises his four-year-old son while balancing a full-time construction management job and night classes, a social life is out of the question. The last thing he wants is for four noisy students to move into the apartment upstairs. But one night, Nadia’s and Ty’s paths cross, and soon they can’t stay away from each other.

The timing is all wrong—but love happens when it happens. And you can’t know what you truly need until you stand to lose it.

I was drawn to the premise of this story, where a young college girl falls for a guy with a kid. It was beautifully done between describing the chaos surrounding a college girl’s life from parties to finals to the stress of working full-time and being a father. I was drawn to how real both Nadia and Ty were. I love realistic characters and I could relate to Nadia’s life ( It literally felt like my college experience in the beginning). Ty was an amazingly complex character. He was haunted by his past, both loathed and loved his current situation and secretly longed for more. His transformation from standoffish to lovable and loved was magical to watch.

I was surprised by Aguirre’s ability to show Ty as both a father and a hot-as-hell ginger. Just like Nadia, I lived for his weekends off when Nadia and Ty could finally be together without interruptions. This book had a lot of steamy, surprising moments. I was impressed that the love scenes weren’t repetitive or over-the-top; they were deliciously unexpected and different, creating emotional, tantalizing scenes.

This book was so refreshing because it was realistic in every way: the sexual tension between Ty and Nadia, the hardships of being a young father and a poor girl putting herself through college, and the beautiful payoff once the characters realized how love can never be planned and is always unexpected.

I devoured this book in one night, staying up way too late, but it was because I literally consumed this beautiful story that Aguirre created. Besides Ty and Nadia’s relationship, there is a lot going on with the secondary characters. At times, it felt like a little too much, but it makes me think these secondary characters will have their own stories later on. I enjoyed hearing about the drama of Nadia’s roommates and the stress of work. I really enjoyed Ty’s son Sam; he had so many cute moments.

Overall, I highly recommend this to anyone looking for a steamy contemporary romance with realistic characters and a unique premise. I absolutely loved this book and I wouldn’t be the diehard BSB fan I am without mentioning the genius of naming this novel after a Backstreet Boys song. I am in love with this series and I can’t wait to read more.

STARS: 5 out of 5

Thank you Author Rx and Ann Aguirre for a copy in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

