Fire of Stars and Dragons by Melissa Petreshock

I was really disappointed in Fire of Stars and Dragons by Melessa Petreshock. I wanted to like it SO BAD.

18685332Following the death of her uncle, twenty-one-year-old CAITRIONA HAYDEN finds herself in the midst of a trio of quintessential alpha male suitors in 22nd century sovereign America where human females should be seen and not heard.

Theo Pendragon claims her as his ward, ordained to guard her through to a long-awaited destiny unbeknownst to Cait, but finds more than he expected when passion ignites within the dragon for the first time. Always drawn to the pursuit of knowledge rather than the heat of desire, powerful demigod Dante cannot deny everything his future holds in Caitriona. America’s monarch, ancient vampire Corrin, has no interest in the frivolity of love, yet marrying Cait could be the answer to his continued survival.

Soon, Cait goes from studying for college exams to choosing a husband knowing the consequences are eternal, the love undying, and the bond timeless.

The premise of this book is so intriguing that despite trying to DNF it multiple times while reading, I had to keep reading to see what happens. Why did I want to DNF it? Let me explain.

First, the main character doesn’t know who she is, or the reader doesn’t. I get that she’s supposed to be an independent spitfire that doesn’t need a man/marriage to control her, but inconsistently, she immediately agrees to choose one of the three eligible bachelors (a dragon, a vampire and a demi-god) for whom to marry. Uh, what? I thought she didn’t WANT to get married?

Second, the choose-a-groom-in-seven-days plot was never fleshed out, never completed. There was no structure. I get that she falls for one guy in particular and chooses him quite early (too early in my opinion) but it made a very confusing love square.

Speaking of confusion, this book is told in first person from multiple points of view. The voice of each character was impossible to decipher so at any given time, I had no idea who was talking and whose inner dialogue I was reading. It was very frustrating at times. I kept having to flip back to see whose name was on the chapter title.

Plus, this book started off confusing, like I was dropped in the middle of a book, never able to gather my bearings, which brings me to my next point. The world building and scene setting was lacking in this book. At any given point, I had no idea where these characters were or why certain things were happening. I get they were in a futuristic United States but there was no background and justifying of motives. I wanted to know why the world was the way it was, why she was attacked in the beginning (which is never answered btw) and why in the heck all of these powerful men were falling over themselves for her (never find this out either).

Because I didn’t like the main character, I had no sympathy for her plight. I enjoyed the male lead characters but it was all so confusing and unsatisfying. I believe this book will have a sequel but I wanted this book to end so much that I doubt I’ll read the next one.

STARS: 2 out of 5

One thought on “Fire of Stars and Dragons by Melissa Petreshock

  1. Pingback: Best (and Worst) Books I Read in 2014 | Note to Selph Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

