The King by J.R. Ward

I’ve been a fan of the Black Dagger Brotherhood series by J.R. Ward since I can remember. When I heard that she was going back to the beginning with Wrath and Beth, I was so excited. It’s really interesting to see where Ward is taking this series.

Before I continue, if you haven’t read this series, you should. If you like badass vampire stories with a lot of action and a LOT of heat, Ward is your girl. Each book in the series is extremely satisfying following one of the brothers — who each get there own happy ever after.

 17703290J.R. Ward’s # 1 New York Times bestselling Black Dagger Brotherhood continues as a royal bloodline is compromised by a grave threat to the throne.

Long live the King…

After turning his back on the throne for centuries, Wrath, son of Wrath, finally assumed his father’s mantle–with the help of his beloved mate. But the crown sets heavily on his head. As the war with the Lessening Society rages on, and the threat from the Band of Bastards truly hits home, he is forced to make choices that put everything–and everyone–at risk.

Beth Randall thought she knew what she was getting into when she mated the last pure blooded vampire on the planet: An easy ride was not it. But when she decides she wants a child, she’s unprepared for Wrath’s response–or the distance it creates between them.

The question is, will true love win out… or tortured legacy take over?

I really enjoyed The King. First, I got to revisit characters that I absolutely love. There wasn’t a lot of face time but they each got a moment or two. Second, it was like Wrath and Beth got another happy ever after. Beth’s desire for children and Wrath’s refusal to “service” her was a very interesting conflict that was explored in this book. With Beth being half-human, she stirs up a lot more drama than she could have ever anticipated.  Third, Ward sets up some really interesting secondary characters that will most likely take center stage in future books. I REALLY enjoyed hearing about Trez and Xcor. iAm even had some shining moments. I’m also VERY curious about a new character that’s introduced as a dangerous executioner in the Shadow world.

I have to give this book five stars. It had everything I’ve come to expect from Ward. The only thing I generally dislike about this series is the chapters on the Lesser society and there is none of that in here, only small clues to their activity. I found my heart clenching and soaring as the story progressed, and by the end, I was totally satisfied with how Ward wrapped up this twelfth installment of the Black Dagger Brotherhood series.

The next book in the series, The Shadows, will be out in April 2015. This installment will follow shadow brothers Trez and iAm. I am super excited to see how Trez gets out of the pledge to the Queen his parents made for him all those years ago.

STARS: 5 out of 5

 

Leave a Reply

