Here Lies Love by Dan Thompson

I received a copy of Dan Thompson’s Here Lies Love in exchange for an honest review. I was honored to be part of his cover reveal back in January, so I was excited to get a chance to read it!

Here Lies Love Promo CoverWould death be less painful than life?

When she is sold by her father, Abbey discovers that nightmares can occur when you’re awake. Trapped inside a wooden cage, Abbey is forced to listen to the horrors and atrocities above; time ticking down until it is her turn. But Abbey isn’t prepared to become a victim; she will escape.

Although, what Abbey isn’t prepared for, is how harsh and unfair the world can be. With the sun turning its back on humanity long ago, life gives no opportunity. The only thing Abbey can do is learn to survive. To exist. And that means stealing any opportunity that comes her way. Haunted by the unpleasant memories bestowed upon her only nurtures Abbey’s paranoia, until she realises that to truly live in the world, she must confront the person who was responsible for her misfortune – her father.

Here Lies Love is a New Adult tale of actuality, of facing up to the fact that love comes in many guises. Can Abbey find the one glimmer of hope or will she be overcome with the darkness of revenge?

This is going to be a tough review to write.  I was really excited to read this story once I read the synopsis but I feel like my expectations were too high.

This is the story of Abbey, her escape from confinement, a pit stop sleepover with two boys and a revenge-filled adventure back to her father. This is a controversial story; it covers some sensitive subjects, such as rape and suicide. The writing was great and the plot was brilliant, but something just didn’t connect.

I couldn’t relate to Abbey. Her emotions were all over the place and there were wild swings in her personality. She went from survivor to suicidal, from shy to vengeful. I couldn’t figure out who she was. I really enjoyed Tristan and Ryan. I felt their voices were genuine and their characters were a bit better fleshed out. They showed a better range of human emotion, and compared to Abbey, they didn’t carry the same kind of madness inside them. I found both men rather intriguing and wanted to know more about them and their survival, more so than continuing Abbey’s story.

I feel like this story was two books in one. In the beginning, she is trying to escape and undergoes unspeakable torment, but the story doesn’t take off until Abbey meets Tristan and Ryan. I feel like her time in captivity could have been better explained through flashbacks, similar to the story of how she was sold by her father. Even though there was a lot of action in the beginning, there was a noticeable shift once she gets free, like an entirely new story with an entirely new set of characters. There was a disconnect there. I wanted it to be one cohesive story, where it was either the first part or the second half, but not both.

The world-building was well done and I loved the science behind what caused the sun to go away.  Plus, the writing was great, but it didn’t fit the story. The main character can’t read; she’s uneducated and because the world had gone to pot, a lot of history was lost. With this characteristic, it made no sense that she used words such as “callous” and “uncouth” in conversation. The whole narrative around her was well-worded and what I’d call “literary,” but it didn’t fit the descriptions of the main character. In this case, the author overwrote this story and for whatever reason, I couldn’t get past it. The writing distracted me from the story to the point that I didn’t want to read it, no matter how exciting the plot.

In the end, there were some parts I really enjoyed but I kept getting distracted by things that caused me to disconnect from the story, whether it was the writing style or the main character’s personality. Here Lies Love comes out on June 28, 2014.

STARS: 2 out of 5

Thanks to Dan Thompson for a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

One thought on “Here Lies Love by Dan Thompson

  1. Ohh no! It’s such a shame when books don’t meet your expectations, the lead protagonist in this novel sounds really frustrating, I’m not surprised you had trouble getting on with her. I’ve come across a few like her over the years and I think it probably occurs though either poor characterisation or because an author can’t make up their mind exactly who they want their lead character to be. A real shame!

Leave a Reply

