ARC:The Millionaire Affair by Jessica Lemmon

I recently saw 50 Shades the Musical (It was hilarious but too insulting to the book to really enjoy.) and left me needing a 50 shades fix. When I saw The Millionaire Affair on NetGalley, I hoped it would be just the thing. I definitely enjoyed the book but it wasn’t what I expected.

18453467LOVE IS A DEAL BREAKER . . .

Millionaire ad executive Landon Downey has a policy: no romantic relationships allowed. So when he’s saddled with his six-year-old nephew for a week, he doesn’t think twice about asking Kimber Reynolds to act as live-in nanny. What he doesn’t expect is the undeniable attraction to the woman he hasn’t seen since they were kids. And not only does she like him back-she suggests they work their way down a list of extracurricular activities in the bedroom. How can he resist?

Kimber wants to prove once and for all that she can love ’em and leave ’em with the best of them. All she has to do is keep her sixteen-year crush on Landon out of the equation. No problem . . . until she realizes she may not be the only one whose heart has gotten completely tangled up in their no-strings agreement.

Unlike the expected “millionaire” storyline, this book was romantic and sweet without anything outrageous. There was nothing crazy about it despite the “list” of sexual experiences that they decide to complete together. This romance had depth and sincere characters with none of the over the top personalities or wild expectations. It was a love story of two misguided individuals who took a chance on love.

Landon and Kimber were such an endearing couple and even though the story was predictable (what romance isn’t?), I enjoyed every minute of it. There were a few laugh out loud moments and others that had me blushing and giggling. This book was tons of fun to read.

A unique aspect of this story was the love scenes. Although there is plenty of lovemaking, it wasn’t the typical double/triple simultaneous orgasms. There were many scenes that “faded to black” and alluded to what happened. This was refreshing since it was more realistic, and the author didn’t fall into the trap of the same sex scene over and over again. With that said, I wish the top ten list of things to do together was a bit crazier or more drawn out. They basically finish the list in two days and with things like “talk in bed” it wasn’t as exciting as I had hoped.

Overall, I enjoyed this book and since it’s the third book in a series, I’m looking forward to catching up with the first two. I’m giving this book five stars because I really enjoyed it but I’m realizing lately that I rank based on genre not of “All Time.” I guess what I’m saying is you’ll really enjoy it as a light, romantic read, but it won’t make your top ten of all time list. The Millionaire Affair comes out of June 24.

Thank you NetGalley for a copy in exchange for an honest review!

STARS: 5 out of 5

Leave a Reply

