Crewel by Ginnifer Albin

Crewel by Ginnifer Albin was the last book on my #UtopYA2014 reading list. Unfortunately, it didn’t live up to my expectations.

11556960Incapable. Awkward. Artless.
That’s what the other girls whisper behind her back. But sixteen-year-old Adelice Lewys has a secret: She wants to fail.

Gifted with the ability to weave time with matter, she’s exactly what the Guild is looking for, and in the world of Arras, being chosen to work the looms is everything a girl could want. It means privilege, eternal beauty, and being something other than a secretary. It also means the power to manipulate the very fabric of reality. But if controlling what people eat, where they live, and how many children they have is the price of having it all, Adelice isn’t interested.

Not that her feelings matter, because she slipped and used her hidden talent for a moment. Now she has one hour to eat her mom’s overcooked pot roast. One hour to listen to her sister’s academy gossip and laugh at her dad’s jokes. One hour to pretend everything’s okay. And one hour to escape.

Because tonight, they’ll come for her.

Once I turned the last page of Crewel, I was speechless because I couldn’t believe I didn’t like it. I mean, it had everything I usually go for: a dystopian, a love triangle, the whole works. But once the story was over, I didn’t care to continue. I didn’t wonder about the characters or their futures. I literally went over to my large TBR pile and picked up another book in the hopes that I could feel something from another story. And maybe that’s it. I didn’t emotionally respond to Albin’s tale, despite the fact that the main character’s parents were dead and her sister held captive.

I really enjoyed the creative aspect of the story with the time-weaving and the dystopian world-building. However, the weaving went way over my head at times and I found myself skipping entire sections of description. The plot itself was interesting but the plot twists were so obvious you could see them coming a mile away. The biggest issue I had with this story was the relationship dynamics. The main character’s relationship with various characters was so confusing. Who’s supposed to be the best friend? The enemy? The love interest? I think in an effort to muddle the obvious plot twists, the author tried to make the status of each character mysterious but I was just left confused. It was like the main character had interactions with all these characters but didn’t care either way how she felt about them.

By the end of the novel, I was a bit disappointed that the author went “there.” I don’t want to ruin the plot for anyone but it was incredibly predictable. I found my mind wandering many times while reading which usually indicates I’m not feeling it. So I’m going to end with that. I just wasn’t feeling it and there are many other better dystopians out there in the YA genre so I can’t bring myself to recommend this book.

STARS: 2 out of 5

2 thoughts on “Crewel by Ginnifer Albin

  1. Pingback: My #UtopYA2014 Experience | Note to Selph Book Reviews

  2. Pingback: Best (and Worst) Books I Read in 2014 | Note to Selph Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

