Jordyn by Tiffany King

For the third book on my #utopYA2014 reading list, I selected Jordyn by Tiffany King and I was pleasantly surprised.

17225270Hand to hand combat training: Check

Cardio and strength training: Check

Daemon hunting: Check Anomaly: Check

Check, check, check, check…That’s all my life is. There’s nothing ordinary about me. I’m “special.” I know this because I’m reminded of it every stinking day. I can kick a Daemon’s ass with both hands tied behind my back. I can run up a mountain without breaking a sweat. Know what I can’t do? Get guys to notice me, or hang out with friends like normal people do. I can’t just be ordinary because I have an Arch Angel for a mentor who is always breathing down my neck, and a family of angelic Guides and Protectors who scrutinize every little thing I do. Just for a day I want a life where I’m no longer some anomaly, where I don’t have to feel like a lab rat.

And then I met Emrys. Okay, so my mentor and family hate him, but probably for good reason. After-all, he is a Soul Trader, and they aren’t the most trust worthy beings. But, he is sooo hot with his green eyes, leather jacket and the sexiest tattoo you’ve ever seen running down his back. And-he doesn’t treat me like a project. I’ve got myself in quite a little quandary here. Choosing between my responsibilities and the Trader that holds my heart is something I didn’t sign up for. Torn between two different worlds, I must now decide who to trust and who to walk away from. What’s a girl to do? See what I mean? I am an anomaly. I am Jordyn.

If I could describe this book it would be simplistic with nothing but the good stuff. The plot was simple with a twist at the end but Jordyn’s lack of memory still kept the reader interested in who Jordyn really is. This is the first novel I’ve read by Tiffany King, but I could tell right away that the secondary characters were more than they appeared; I later figured out that they were the main characters in her previous series, The Saving Angels (which I am putting on my TBR list).

The main character, Jordyn, is a badass. It’s no secret that I love heroines that kick ass, and Jordyn even had a witty, sarcastic tone. I also enjoyed that she wasn’t portrayed as a “dumb” teenager, because it could have easily gone there. I think if she hadn’t willingly gone with Emrys the first few times he popped into the situation, I wouldn’t have enjoyed it as much. However, she seemed smart and capable, which is something I look for in a good Young Adult heroine.

My favorite part of this whole book was Emrys, the male love-interest. He was smoking and I’m not even talking about his tattooed, leather jacket-wearing exterior, I’m talking about the sizzling dialogue that took the scene from lukewarm to scorching in a split second. It was the kind of dialogue that required a glass of cold water poured over your head to cool you down. (Let me remind you that this is Young Adult so you will be left wanting!) The interchange between Emrys and Jordyn was so well done. Emrys hit all the elements of a sexy male lead without being cheesy or predictable.

I felt like the book ended right when it was taking off so I’m really looking forward to reading the second book in the Daemon Hunter series, Jordyn and the Caverns of Gloom. Based on this one book, Tiffany King has made it to my authors to watch (and read) list. She delivered a smart heroine and a sizzling love interest with an intriguing plot and an enjoyable writing style — this book deserves all five stars.

STARS: 5 out of 5

Leave a Reply

