Prince of Wolves by Quinn Loftis

Prince of Wolves by Quinn Loftis is the second book on my #utopYA2014 reading list. I haven’t even gone to the conference yet, and I already love it because I’ve been exposed to authors I may not have ever heard of. Quinn Loftis is one of them and just based on this first book, I can tell she’s going to be one of my favorites.

11947156 Jacque Pierce was just an ordinary 17-year-old girl getting ready to start her senior year in high school in Coldspring, Texas. When a mysterious foreign exchange student from Romania moves in across the street, Jacque and her two best friends, Sally and Jen, don’t realize the last two weeks of their summer are going to get a lot more interesting.

From the moment Jacque sets eyes on Fane she feels an instant connection, a pull like a moth to a flame. Little does she know that the flame she is drawn to is actually a Canis lupis, werewolf, and she just happens to be his mate; the other half of his soul.

The problem is Fane is not the only wolf in Coldspring, Texas.

Just as Fane and Jacque are getting to know each other, another wolf steps out to try and claim Jacque as his mate. Fane will now have to fight for the right to complete the mating bond, something that is his right by birth but is being denied him by a crazed Alpha. Will the love Fane has for Jacque be enough to give him the strength to defeat his enemy, will Jacque accept that she is Fane’s mate and complete the bond between them?

Prince of Wolves was so amazingly delicious. It was exactly what the doctor ordered. Told in two alternating perspectives between Fane, Romanian prince of the grey wolves, and Jacque, normal teenager girl, this story was exciting, romantic and consisted of all things were.  When Fane comes to town as a foreign exchange student and instantly connects with Jacque, nothing will ever be the same. However, when another wants to claim Jacque for his own, things get real.

Full disclosure: I love werewolves and stories about werewolves. (I am and forever will be Team Jacob.) Plus, with the whole male bonding and fighting another alpha over the girl, the book practically had my name on it. The best part is it was everything I had hoped it would be and I absolutely loved it.

First, I loved that Jacque and Fane had an instant connection which started off with witty banter back and forth, but it wasn’t insta-love, which is such a breath of fresh air. Even though their relationship seriously progressed in a matter of a week, it was wonderfully paced and realistic in the ups and downs of Jacque meeting her soul mate, who just so happens to be a werewolf and for reasons beyond her knowledge MUST complete the bonding ceremony STAT. That’s enough to make any girl go crazy, but it was super exciting to watch.

Second, Jacque’s two best friends were awesome. Their hilarious comments and funny barbs were so entertaining. I also loved the representation of true friendship, which is often seriously overlooked in paranormal romance. I foresee more from these secondary characters in this series.

Finally, all I can say is I loved it. This book had me grinning from ear-to-ear, swooning over a Romanian Prince, and laughing out loud. It was so much fun to read and so addictive. I immediately started the second book, Blood Rites, after finishing this book because I had to have more.

If you’re into paranormal romance, love werewolves or just love a good normal-girl-falling-for-a-prince plot, this book is for you.

 STARS: 5 out of 5

3 thoughts on “Prince of Wolves by Quinn Loftis

  1. Pingback: My #UtopYA2014 Experience | Note to Selph Book Reviews

  2. Pingback: Releases and Recommendations: Wolf of Stone by Quinn Loftis | Note to Selph Book Reviews

  3. Pingback: Best (and Worst) Books I Read in 2014 | Note to Selph Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

