Seconds Before Sunrise by Shannon A. Thompson

I was lucky enough to be part of the cover reveal for Seconds Before Sunrise and I was super lucky to get an advanced copy from the lovely Shannon A. Thompson. After reading Minutes Before Sunset, I was ready to devour book two.

Seconds Before Sunrise

Two nightmares. One memory.

“Chaos within destiny. It was the definition of our love.”

Eric has weeks before his final battle when he’s in an accident. Forced to face his human side, he knows he can’t survive if he fights alone. But he doesn’t want to surrender, even if he becomes the sacrifice for war.

Jessica’s memory isn’t the only thing she’s lost. Her desire to find her parents is gone and so is her confidence. But when fate leaves nightmares behind, she decides to find the boy she sees in them, even if it risks her sanity.

After finishing Seconds Before Sunrise, my mind was reeling. I had so many questions. Who is Darthon? Why are Robb and Zac psychos? And what’s up with Crystal? There is so much mystery shadowing the end of this sequel, especially surrounding the secondary characters, that I couldn’t help but try to solve this puzzle. It was nice being back in the world of shades, but in this world anyone can be anyone. Since a shade looks different in their human form, Eric is able to hide he is Shoman (for the most part), but I can’t help but try to figure out who Darthon is. It’s even difficult to determine who’s light, who’s dark and who’s just plain ol’ human. This mystery is what makes this story so compelling and original.

This book picks up shortly after Jessica loses her memory. This concept was so intriguing to me and I loved how Eric tried to deal and Jessica seemed to have a magnetic pull to Eric despite her memory loss. It really made it seem like they were meant to be together. However, the best thing about it was the consequences associated with her lack of memories. She not only forgot what happened, but she lost a part of herself, making mistakes and taking chances she normally wouldn’t. Now normally, a typical teenage girl would really open up with this kind of risk taking, but Jessica has lost her confidence and the spirit of who she is. I so wanted her to remember the entire time.

Eric is by far my favorite character. He has the weight of the world on his shoulders and I loved being a part of the whirlwind of his emotions, especially towards the end. I loved why he needed to visit the grave of Jessica’s parents. I loved that his love for Jessica was there for all to see, and he just couldn’t help himself. I also have a huge soft spot for Jonathan. I can’t really explain why but he’s just awesome and I love him.

There was a lot of action in this book. The big battle takes place on Eric’s birthday (poor guy) and there are real consequences. Eric has to make a decision and it was so unexpected but seemed right. With all the anticipation and build up, it was not what I thought would happen at all. One of the main characters dies and even though I was sad, I didn’t cry. When I don’t cry, I always psychoanalyze everything about why I didn’t feel it enough to cry. I think it was simply because it happened so quickly and we jump right back into the heat of the battle. The battle was pretty epic but there seems to be more battles ahead.

There are some really exciting things that happen at the end but I don’t want to ruin it for anyone so I’ll keep my thoughts to myself. I really enjoyed this second book. I got lost in the writing and the characters and the plot was exciting. Overall, the book gave me everything I expected to see. However, I felt like there was something missing in book two that was in book one. I suspect it has to do with the lack of romance between Jessica and Eric. Obviously, if Jessica can’t remember anything I can’t expect them to be all lovey-dovey, but towards the end there was plenty of opportunity for declarations of love. I missed that romantic element and I enjoy watching those two together so I’m hoping for a lot more romance in the next book. If anything, I think the first book was just so good that it was hard to live up to.

Seconds Before Sunrise will be out on March 27, 2014, but I’m already anticipating the final installment of the Timely Death Trilogy.

STARS: 4 out of 5

Thanks Shannon A. Thompson for a copy in exchange for an honest review!

Leave a Reply

