Fire & Flood By Victoria Scott

From the moment I read the synopsis of Fire & Flood by Victoria Scott, I was sold. I had to get my hands on it. Fortunately for me, I was awarded an eARC from NetGalley, and I was beyond excited!

16069167A modern day thrill ride, where a teen girl and her animal companion must participate in a breathtaking race to save her brother’s life—and her own.

Tella Holloway is losing it. Her brother is sick, and when a dozen doctors can’t determine what’s wrong, her parents decide to move to Montana for the fresh air. She’s lost her friends, her parents are driving her crazy, her brother is dying—and she’s helpless to change anything.

Until she receives mysterious instructions on how to become a Contender in the Brimstone Bleed. It’s an epic race across jungle, desert, ocean, and mountain that could win her the prize she desperately desires: the Cure for her brother’s illness. But all the Contenders are after the Cure for people they love, and there’s no guarantee that Tella (or any of them) will survive the race.

The jungle is terrifying, the clock is ticking, and Tella knows she can’t trust the allies she makes. And one big question emerges: Why have so many fallen sick in the first place?

Fire & Flood is the best thing I have read all year, hands down. Five beautifully fantastic, wonderfully amazing stars. I couldn’t put this book down. I couldn’t bear to look away.

This story is everything it claims to be and more. The race itself was complex and exciting, similar to the fight for your life in Hunger Games and the alliances in The Testing. Except, this book has pandoras —  animal companions with awesome abilities to help you through the race. I LOVED every minute of it! Tella’s love for her Pandora was endearing and her compassion for everyone else in the race was heart-warming. I loved her spunk, spirit and will to win. Plus, she’s hilarious! I laughed out loud more in this book than any book I’ve read in a long time. I truly, truly enjoyed it.

The complexity and depth of the relationships between the characters really brings this story to a whole other level. The alliances quickly set in but the doubting and betrayal doesn’t come out right away. I particularly loved the relationship between Guy and Tella. It’s so complicated because it’s new, inconvenient and happening during a race where you might die. At any given time, Tella doesn’t know if Guy is using her or falling in love with her, this uncertainty adds a bit of anticipation, creating some lovely tension. Overall, their relationship was sweet but forged in fire, where they had to define their relationship little by little with each challenge they had to face.

I just loved the concept of this story and the race, the reason behind the contenders, each of which play for their own reasons. I loved the action, the will to survive and the will to live and save their loved ones. This book plays up the theme: What would you endure to save the one you love? Tella falling in love during the process complicates things a bit, but that’s what makes this book so good.

I have nothing bad to say about this book other than it ended and now I want to see what happens next! The next book is still untitled without a future release date. I just hope that it comes out soon, very, very soon. Fire & Flood was released today so go get yourself a copy.  If you like survival stories with action and romance, this book is for you.

STARS: 5 out of 5

Thanks NetGalley for a copy in exchange for an honest review!

3 thoughts on “Fire & Flood By Victoria Scott

  1. Pingback: Releases and Recommendations: Salt & Stone by Victoria Scott | Note to Selph Book Reviews

  2. Pingback: Best (and Worst) Books I Read in 2014 | Note to Selph Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

