These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

These Broken Stars is an intergalactic survival adventure that I won’t soon forget.

13138635It’s a night like any other on board the Icarus. Then, catastrophe strikes: the massive luxury spaceliner is yanked out of hyperspace and plummets into the nearest planet. Lilac LaRoux and Tarver Merendsen survive. And they seem to be alone.

Lilac is the daughter of the richest man in the universe. Tarver comes from nothing, a young war hero who learned long ago that girls like Lilac are more trouble than they’re worth. But with only each other to rely on, Lilac and Tarver must work together, making a tortuous journey across the eerie, deserted terrain to seek help.

Then, against all odds, Lilac and Tarver find a strange blessing in the tragedy that has thrown them into each other’s arms. Without the hope of a future together in their own world, they begin to wonder—would they be better off staying here forever?

Everything changes when they uncover the truth behind the chilling whispers that haunt their every step. Lilac and Tarver may find a way off this planet. But they won’t be the same people who landed on it.

As I write this review, I am conflicted. This book was so good. The characters were wonderfully real and the world was fully developed. The story captured me and transported me into another world, literally. The flawlessness of this plot is astounding, and the care and authenticity of both Lilac’s and Tarver’s voice is amazing. After turning the last page, I’m speechless. I feel like I’m in shock.

The romance between Lilac and Tarver was such a slow burn that I hung on every word, every conversation and every glance or touch. The backstory for each character was perfectly weaved into their present, which made their motives and desires understandable and authentic. Their adventure through an alien planet was strangely hypnotic. I was never bored with the descriptions of their surroundings or the details of everyday survival. I am in awe of how perfectly this novel was written.

This sci-fi fantasy story really contains sci-fi and fantasy. There were unbelievable parts; there were unconceivable parts. At one point, my heart was crushed with such grief I needed the adrenaline of the ending to get me through the story. I loved the fact that this story was sci-fi, but that is also what I hated about it too. The fantastical element in the end kept me from fully committing and believing the ending, which created my conflicting emotions about this book. I feel like I’m not making any sense but one thing is clear, read this book. It is perfectly written with an amazing love story that breaks the boundaries of time and space.

STARS: 5 out of 5

One thought on “These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

  1. Pingback: Hunted by Meagan Spooner | Note To Selph Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

