Champion by Marie Lu

I was so nervous going into Champion by Marie Lu, the last book in the Legend trilogy. Recently, YA trilogies have been breaking my heart left and right and I honestly can’t take the death of another main character for the sake of ‘literature.’ I need happy endings people! Fortunately, Marie Lu delivered a satisfying and worthy conclusion to this series.

champion.indd He is a Legend.

She is a Prodigy.

Who will be Champion?

June and Day have sacrificed so much for the people of the Republic—and each other—and now their country is on the brink of a new existence. June is back in the good graces of the Republic, working within the government’s elite circles as Princeps-Elect, while Day has been assigned a high-level military position.

But neither could have predicted the circumstances that will reunite them: just when a peace treaty is imminent, a plague outbreak causes panic in the Colonies, and war threatens the Republic’s border cities. This new strain of plague is deadlier than ever, and June is the only one who knows the key to her country’s defense. But saving the lives of thousands will mean asking the one she loves to give up everything.

With heart-pounding action and suspense, Marie Lu’s bestselling trilogy draws to a stunning conclusion.

I honestly did not know what to expect going into this book. The way June and Day are brought back together after time apart was really masterful storytelling. The stakes are high in this book and the action is non-stop. As always, I love how calculating June is and how Day wears his heart on his sleeve. I am so in love with these two. When Anden swoops in for the kill a few times throughout the book, I couldn’t help but be upset, even though Anden is a really nice guy. For me, it has to be Day and June.

One of my favorite things about this book comes in towards the end. If you don’t know, this book was inspired by the story of Javert and Jean Valjean from Les Miserables. There are two phrases from the musical that are used in the book. The two phrases to look for are “Let him live” and “written in the stars.” I bawled my eyes out during these scenes, even more so because Les Mis is my favorite musical of all time, so I was able to tie in all the emotions that go along with that story. Brilliant, Ms. Lu, absolutely fucking brilliant.

Even though this book made me weep and the ending broke my heart, there was hope in the end that kept me from crumbling under the weight of my grief. The ending was unexpected but perfect. This series will join my all time favorites. I will miss these characters. For once, the conclusion of a trilogy did not disappoint and if you haven’t already started this series (beginning with Legend  then Prodigy), then you should.

 STARS: 5 out of 5

Leave a Reply

