Effortless by S.C. Stephens

Effortless by S.C. Stephens is the sequel to Thoughtless, which was a hurricane of emotions and I wasn’t sure if I wanted to keep reading the series. I was convinced to keep going since the second book was much better and they were right. The second book is everything I had hoped the first book would be.

15842441After being caught in the middle of a love triangle which led to a devastating betrayal, Kiera pledged to learn from the mistakes she made. She was determined to never again inflict that kind of pain on anyone, especially the soulful, talented man who held her heart. But life offers new challenges for every relationship, and when Kiera’s love is put to the ultimate test, will it survive? Love is easy . . . trust is hard.

I have a confession to make. In the first book, I was team Denny and I thought Kiera was just a really immature heartbreaker. So in book two, I had to adjust back to Kiera’s voice and accept Kellan as the love interest. Within the first few pages, I was sold. The romance between Keira and Kellan is electric. Their relationship is hot, but sometimes turbulent, sweet, but sometimes sour. This book is a great representation of rebuilding a relationship where trust has been broken.

I really enjoyed this book. There was a moment when Denny comes back and it becomes evident that both Keira and Kellan are lying to each other. I cringed in anguish. All I could think is NOT AGAIN! But this time there is a happy ending and I was satisfied, where the first book left me reeling in hate and confusion.

I’m glad I gave Stephens a second chance. This book was a lovely romance with steamy sex scenes and real issues that couples face today. The last book in the trilogy, Reckless, is out and I’ll definitely be reading it.

STARS: 4 out of 5

Leave a Reply

