Afterburn by Sylvia Day

Well wasn’t that a sweet treat. Afterburn by Sylvia Day is her newest novella. Harlequin and Cosmo have teamed up with Day to launch the new Cosmo Red-Hot Reads. As an avid Cosmogirl, I saw the sneak peek in a recent edition of Cosmopolitan and I was intrigued. Once it was released, I guiltily pressed buy and confirm on my nook, despite my very large TBR pile. (It’s just so easy to buy on a whim!) Regardless, I thoroughly enjoyed this story. In only 100 short pages, Day sucked me into this story and now I don’t want to let go.

17607848 #1 New York Times bestselling author Sylvia Day, America’s premier author of provocative fiction, delivers the debut novel from Cosmo Red-Hot Reads from Harlequin.

The realization that Jax still affected me so strongly was a jagged pill to swallow. He’d only been part of my life for five short weeks two years ago. But now he was back. Walking into a deal I’d worked hard to close. And God, he was magnificent. His eyes were a brown so dark they were nearly black. Thickly lashed, they were relentless in their intensity. Had I really thought they were soft and warm? There was nothing soft about Jackson Rutledge. He was a hard and jaded man, cut from a ruthless cloth.

In that moment I understood how badly I wanted to unravel the mystery of Jax. Bad enough that I didn’t mind how much it was going to cost me…

We’re introduced to Gia and Jax, ex-lovers. Gianna Rossi is confident but vulnerable and Jax has the dangerous bad boy vibe going.  There is this pull between them that is undeniable and Day really pulls it off. I have to be honest, when I read the sneak peek in Cosmo, Jax seemed a little too violent for a lack of a better term. However, once you read this story and the context around that scene it’s a lot more sensual and exciting, less I’m going to kill you now with my lovemaking.

I loved that Gia was an ambitious career woman but I wasn’t pleased she attempted to use her sexual prowess to get ahead. This may just be a character flaw for this book, but in real life, that is not okay.

By the end, I LOVED this story. I was attached to the characters, I wanted to see what would happen and I definitely want to know how Gia is going to make Jax pay for hurting her and vice versa. I’m interested to see how Jax’s successful political family dynamics and Gia’s family-oriented lifestyle collide. I see so much potential in the Rossi family to maintain a continuation of these characters after Jax and Gia are done. I want to see more of her hot brothers! Basically, Day has left me panting for more.  This little treat is worth the read. Thankfully, the next installment, Aftershock, will be out in two months on November 12, 2013. This will be the conclusion to this story and I sure hope it’s more than 100 pages…

STARS: 4 out of 5

Leave a Reply

