Mother’s Challenge: The Brass Bed by Jennifer Stevens

My mother and I are really close. She knows I have a blog and it was her “historical romance” books that I got hooked on at 13 and fueled my reading frenzy. My mother visited recently and she gave me a challenge, she said she would buy me a book, a book of her choice, and I would have to read it and review it on my blog. I accepted. Now, just know that my mom is a bit crazy and tends to do outlandish things to be funny, so the book she picked was The Brass Bed by Jennifer Stevens.

1247361THE CURSE: Satisfy one hundred women or be trapped in a brass bed forever
Lord Randall was a lousy lover in 1811, so his magician-mistress turned him into a sex demon. Lucky for him, his bed fell into Clay’s hands.

THE CON: Sex therapy for women on an antique brass “treatment bed”
Clay has the perfect scam going, until that pesky, foxy fraud investigator Jewel comes sniffing around. Lucky for him, she has a soft spot for hunky con men.

THE CHOICE: Sex demon or sex fraudster?
Jewel is Randy’s hundredth woman. Now he says he’s her personal sex slave, and her case against the con artist is dissolving in a hail of hormones. Lucky for her, she’s a tough cop with a lusty libido.

First, the cover. I never in a million years would have picked up this book. Comedic romance was never my thing. However, I accepted the challenge and I was going to make good on my word.

The Brass Bed is one of the wackiest, strangest books I have ever read. This is a story of a woman who’s investigating her boss’s wife, who might be cheating, and long story short, she ends up in sex therapy on a brass bed that is possessed by a sex demon. At first, this idea intrigued me. I was thinking it would be along the lines of Karen Marie Moning’s Highlander series (which I highly recommend by the way) with a 19th century man stuck in the present. However, it came off as more cheesy than believable, and consequently, the sex was more sleazy than sexy. At one point there was some bestiality going on and that was just too weird.

My biggest issue, however, which plagued me in its entirety, is the main character is a slut. There, I said it. I couldn’t get into the book because she wasn’t relatable, likeable or normal. This fact contributed to a huge flaw in this book; towards the end, there are hints of a love triangle — not because she’s in love with both men but because she’s a slut and wants to sleep with tons of people. Talk about a major turn off.

I was surprised with the magical element in this story. There are genies, smoking pigeons and a pink smog that swallows people whole. It wasn’t what I was expecting. It had a fantasy/dystopian feel without every truly committing. The characters were brash. Each character was loud, stubborn and, quite frankly, an asshole. Again, I couldn’t relate to any of the characters. The story took some interesting turns, including the sex demon getting trapped in the back seat of a car and a mattress in a furniture store, but I didn’t really care for the plot. The motivation for each character was flawed. For example, the main character didn’t want a sex demon but she’s a sex addict. It didn’t make any sense!

Basically, I didn’t like this story. There are sequels to this lovely little tale but I will not be reading them. If I want a trashy romance fix, I’ll seek refuge elsewhere.

However, thanks Mom for the book. Keep ‘em coming! 😉

STARS: 1 out of 5

Leave a Reply

