Beyond Shame by Kit Rocha

WARNING: CONTENT FOR MATURE AUDIENCES

Browsing through NetGalley, I came across Beyond Shame by Kit Rocha which was offered in anticipation for the release of the sequel, which came out March 2013. I always have an eye out for a fifty-shades fix, so I willingly immersed myself into Kit Rocha’s world.

15830843All Noelle Cunningham has ever wanted is a life beyond–beyond the walls of Eden, where only the righteous are allowed to remain, and beyond her stiflingly restrictive existence as a councilman’s daughter. But only ruins lie outside the City, remnants of a society destroyed by solar storms decades earlier.

The sectors surrounding Eden house the corrupt, the criminal–men like Jasper McCray, bootlegger and cage fighter. Jas clawed his way up from nothing to stand at the right hand of Sector Four’s ruthless leader, and he’ll defend the O’Kane gang with his life. But no fight ever prepared him for the exiled City girl who falls at his feet.

Her innocence is undeniable, but so is their intense sexual attraction, and soon they’re crossing every boundary Noelle barely knew she had. But if she wants to belong to Jas, first she’ll have to open herself to the gang, to a dangerous world of sex, lust and violence. A world where passion is power, and freedom is found in submission.

This book had two extremes for me: it had a really good meaty plot and really crazy, kinky love scenes. Let me explain.

This book is basically a dystopian adult novel, which has my name written all over it. I loved the world that Rocha created and the rules and dangers of the society with the gritty characters living outside the city filled with fancy rich people.  I enjoyed the fast pace of the story and the violence and action with the gang wars. Rocha made her world so believable, I never doubted it for a second. I love stories that I can just immerse myself in them without too many questions.

I loved Noelle and Jasper. Their relationship had so much tension — good sexual tension. It had this lamb in the lion’s den feel. The romance progressed in a natural but exciting way and Noelle grew as a character really finding herself by the end. I really enjoyed it.

This book has meat to it, meaning without the sex scenes the story stands on its own, but with the sex scenes? Oh my! This book was steamy! I’m sure my eyes bulged out of my skull a time or two. There were scenes with multiple partners, which quite honestly made me uncomfortable (not my thing) but the sex scenes overall were hot with some sizzling dialogue. My biggest complaint with this book was the directing in the sex scenes. At any given time (and with so many ‘partners’), I didn’t understand what exactly was going on. There were all these weird positions that I couldn’t figure out so the rest of the sex scene didn’t make any sense, which made an uncomfortable love scene just plain confusing. All I know is that it was hot!

Naturally, this book isn’t for everyone. If you like your sex scenes kinky, think fifty shades with multiple partners then you’ll enjoy this. However, even if the kinky sex isn’t your thing, the plot itself is exciting and original with an endearing (but dirty) romance that will leave you swooning.

The sequel, Beyond Control, has been released, with another sequel Beyond Pain coming out soon. It’s definitely on my to-be-read list.

STARS: 4 out of 5

Thank you NetGalley for a copy in exchange for an honest review!

2 thoughts on “Beyond Shame by Kit Rocha

  1. I liked the idea of the world. Having certain class systems and then gangs who “ruled” the lower lands. But I felt like the book was lacking in fully emerging us in the story. For my personal preference, there was too much sex. I wish they added in more scenes about gang fighting and how they make their money with illegal distribution of alcohol. like you said, I also felt lost on some of the sex scenes. But over all, Hot-n-Steamy. Oh my. After reading this I started to imagine what life would be like if this were real? You know? People having sex everywhere with no shame. Would be a little different. Haha. Overall is it was a good read.

    • I will admit the sex was too much at times but for what it was supposed to be it was refreshing it had an actual plot. I haven’t read the sequel yet but I, too, am hoping there will be more insight into how the gang runs and the violence.

Leave a Reply

