Requiem by Lauren Oliver

Requiem by Lauren Oliver is the finale in the Delirium Trilogy. I LOVED Delirium and Pandemonium. (Don’t read any further if you haven’t read the first two books to avoid inevitable spoilers.) Oliver is known for delivering heart-pounding cliffhangers, so it’s safe to say that I’ve been chomping at the bit for this one.9593913

They have tried to squeeze us out, to stamp us into the past.

But we are still here.

And there are more of us every day.

Now an active member of the resistance, Lena has been transformed. The nascent rebellion that was under way in Pandemonium has ignited into an all-out revolution in Requiem, and Lena is at the center of the fight.

After rescuing Julian from a death sentence, Lena and her friends fled to the Wilds. But the Wilds are no longer a safe haven—pockets of rebellion have opened throughout the country, and the government cannot deny the existence of Invalids. Regulators now infiltrate the borderlands to stamp out the rebels, and as Lena navigates the increasingly dangerous terrain, her best friend, Hana, lives a safe, loveless life in Portland as the fiancée of the young mayor.

Maybe we are driven crazy by our feelings.

Maybe love is a disease, and we would be better off without it.

But we have chosen a different road.

And in the end, that is the point of escaping the cure: We are free to choose.

We are even free to choose the wrong thing.

Requiem is told from both Lena’s and Hana’s points of view. The two girls live side by side in a world that divides them until, at last, their stories converge.

A dark cloud of disbelief passed over me as I turned the last page of Requiem, followed by denial and anger–all the stages of grief except acceptance. I couldn’t bear to accept the way Oliver ended this dearly loved series. Without spoiling anything, I can only say its a very open ending. In other words, the cliffhanger of all cliffhangers, meaning there will never be closure. I spent hours reading review after review to see how other readers were coping. I read every interview I could find from Lauren Oliver and, no, she is not planning on writing another Delirium book. That’s when acceptance came creeping in…and after this review, I will place Requiem on my shelf and grieve until the pain subsides.

Okay, a little melodramatic but Oliver crushed me with her last book. I was initially disappointed this book didn’t start off right after the ending of book 2. I mean, ALEX! He’s alive!  However, he was way too broody in this book and it wasn’t until practically the last page before there was any clarification. Also, Julian was a bit too soft, always trying to prove himself. My biggest issue with this love triangle is that the love was completely gone. Readers were just left with this awkward triangle. Where was the romance? the heat? The whole point of this series is to fight for the ability to love and it’s missing in this last installment!

I really enjoyed Hana’s perspective. She’s cured, or so she thinks, and following her storyline was a lot more exciting and heart-stopping than Lena stomping through the woods. The reunion of Lena and her mom was really endearing and believable. I’m glad she got some answers. However, my favorite character revisit was Gracie. I wanted her to play a bigger role, but honestly, I’m just glad she’s okay.

So what are my final thoughts on this book? I strongly disliked how it ended but Oliver’s genius writing was still there and her characters are all amazing. There wasn’t any resolution so I’ll be ingesting rebound books like candy trying to get over it. It’s still a great series and a great read but Requiem is my least favorite book in this trilogy.

STARS: 3 out of 5

Leave a Reply

