Reached by Allie Condie

How to start this review…I LOVED Matched. It made my Top Ten Books Of All Time list. Then came Crossed, which pissed me off so much I refused to write a review. How could I put the disappointment of a lifetime into words? I mean, come on, they fought all of that just to let the rebellion split them up?!? I couldn’t believe it! However, I’ve never been a quitter and I had to finish the series out. The Verdict: It was definitely better than Crossed but didn’t live up to the genius that was Matched.

13125947After leaving Society to desperately seek The Rising, and each other, Cassia and Ky have found what they were looking for, but at the cost of losing each other yet again. Cassia is assigned undercover in Central city, Ky outside the borders, an airship pilot with Indie. Xander is a medic, with a secret. All too soon, everything shifts again.

Here’s the thing. This series went out, not with a bang, but a fizzle. Writing this review, I can barely recall how it ended. It didn’t really leave an impression on me. Perhaps the most disappointing thing was the way Allie Condie resolved the love triangle, and then even worse how she tried to make it “better” by adding another relationship in at the end.  Then there was this “Pilot,” who just annoyed the crap out of me. I wanted Ky and Cassia to just BE together and not feel obligated to save the world. As much as this story irked me overall, I did enjoy the dynamic between Ky and Cassia. I have a soft spot for Xander and was rooting for him the whole time.

The way this story played out was so bizarre and out of left field that I didn’t really believe it. I couldn’t get into it and I just wanted to know what happened so I could move on. There’s a lot of waiting in this book, where each character is in their own place waiting for the other characters; it kind of got boring. I really wish I could sit here and gush but I can’t think of any good things to say. It wasn’t really THAT bad but I was so disappointed that I just want to put this series on my shelf and forget about it.

I still think about Matched and think it’s one of the best books I’ve ever read but now I wish it were a standalone.

STARS: 2.5 out of 5

Leave a Reply

