The Elite by Kiera Cass

When The Elite by Kiera Cass was released, I bought it right away and devoured it in one day. I’ve been waiting what seems like forever to get my hands on this sequel.

16248068The hotly-anticipated sequel to the New York Times bestseller The Selection.

Thirty-five girls came to the palace to compete in the Selection. All but six have been sent home. And only one will get to marry Prince Maxon and be crowned princess of Illea.

America still isn’t sure where her heart lies. When she’s with Maxon, she’s swept up in their new and breathless romance, and can’t dream of being with anyone else. But whenever she sees Aspen standing guard around the palace, and is overcome with memories of the life they planned to share. With the group narrowed down to the Elite, the other girls are even more determined to win Maxon over—and time is running out for America to decide.

Just when America is sure she’s made her choice, a devastating loss makes her question everything again. And while she’s struggling to imagine her future, the violent rebels that are determined to overthrow the monarchy are growing stronger and their plans could destroy her chance at any kind of happy ending.

I am so in love with this series I can’t even put it into words. This story just keeps getting better and better. First, I LOVE the competition between the girls and the “challenges” they are given. It adds a level of excitement that really drives the story. The competition between the girls is really starting to heat up. With the threat of the rebels looming over the palace, this story had me on the edge of my seat.

I’m flabbergasted with Cass’s ability to create such sexual tension and heat between America and both Maxon and Aspen. Each relationship is really unique and believable, each with their own challenges. Some of those kisses had the pages burning in my hands!  In the first book, I didn’t know which team I was on but now I’ve decided I’m team Maxon. However, I don’t want to jinx it because I always seem to pick the losing guy.

I loved that America really grew in this book. She had to be honest with herself about her feelings for both guys and whether she could/wanted to be a princess. My heart melted during the scenes with her dad and I loved her little sister, May. This story is full of such rich characters, including the King which creates all sorts of problems.

This book ended with America still split between both guys but also pulled in each direction all the more. Based on the ending, I can’t wait to see how America kicks some ass and takes names in the next book. The third book, The One, will be released in 2014. I CANNOT WAIT! This series is everything I had hoped it would be and more.

STARS: 5 out of 5

3 thoughts on “The Elite by Kiera Cass

  1. i’m 100% on the same page as you – it’s great to see shared opinions with serieslike this. i see a few others that you’ve read so far which are on my ‘read’ list as well, so i can’t wait to see what else you review in case i need inspiration.

  2. I devoured this book in one day. So good! This is one of the few books that I can’t choose what team to be on. I love Aspen and Maxon. They both have their pros and cons. To be honest, I thought America’s project would be something more dramatic. Something different. He play made her sound like a foolish silly girl. I understand where she is coming from and her idea. But she isn’t royalty YET to change anything. I was hoping for… something. Haha. I hope I’m not being too confusing. I CANT WAIT for the next book.

Leave a Reply

