The Eternity Cure by Julie Kagawa

As far as sequels go, this one was awesome. It was everything a sequel is supposed to be. It had the same characters we all know and love; it built on the story and (most importantly) progressed the plot into something bigger and better. The Eternity Cure by Julie Kawaga was a riveting continuation of the Blood of Eden series.

13581990Allison Sekemoto has vowed to rescue her creator, Kanin, who is being held hostage and tortured by the psychotic vampire Sarren. The call of blood leads her back to the beginning—New Covington and the Fringe, and a vampire prince who wants her dead yet may become her wary ally.

Even as Allie faces shocking revelations and heartbreak like she’s never known, a new strain of the Red Lung virus that decimated humanity is rising to threaten human and vampire alike.

I was super excited to read this book. I recently read (and LOVED) the Immortal Rules and I was lucky enough to get an advanced reading copy from NetGalley of The Eternity Cure. This is the first time that I’ve actually received an advanced copy of a book I just HAD to read. I was super ecstatic when I found out!

We’re back in the world of Allison who’s on her own searching for her sire. I love Allison. She’s bad ass but still hangs on to her humanity. She’s ruthless when she needs to be but she’s still compassionate. She’s perfect. I love her. This book took some surprising turns particularly when Zeke shows back up. I was just as shocked and happy to see him as Allison was! Zeke is an amazing, down-to-earth character. His drive and ambition make for one sexy vampire hunter. The forbidden connection between Allison and Zeke is so fun to watch. It’s like a guilty pleasure where you want one to corrupt the other.

This book includes some old faces– some you don’t expect (or want) to see. I love how complicated Kawaga made this story. It isn’t just black and white, good and evil–it’s all grey. This story explores the different shades of grey (not THAT kind!) and how Allison reacts and feels about each situation. I’m not going to lie, I wanted Allison to be less like a little girl and woman up a little. I mean she is a vampire now. It’s okay to kiss a boy!

I was enthralled by this book. It made my heart pound, my eyes water and it ultimately broke my heart– only to be fused back together again with the very last line. I cannot wait to read the next installment of this series. The Eternity Cure will be released on April 30, 2013. This is definitely worth picking up.

STARS: 4 out of 5

Leave a Reply

