The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

For some reason (I can’t really tell you why) I was never intrigued by this book, even though it has an awesome cover. Maybe the cover seemed too “genre-ish” or the synopsis seemed too “tween” but it wasn’t until it stared back at me from the library bookshelf that I thought, might as well.

Turns out, this book was awesome.

8591107Mara Dyer doesn’t think life can get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.

It can.

She believes there must be more to the accident she can’t remember that killed her friends and left her mysteriously unharmed.

There is.

She doesn’t believe that after everything she’s been through, she can fall in love.

She’s wrong.

I didn’t know what to expect from this book but it wasn’t what I got. From the very first page, the stylistic wit smacks you across the face (and you like it); the snarky comments, the melodramatic inner thoughts and the witty banter all come together to the epitome of teenage angst, delivered oh so well. As my brain adjusted to this refreshing but odd writing style, I came to the realization that I loved it. I was a bit concerned it may have been a complete and utter fail if Michelle Hodkin didn’t back it up with an amazing story but, no worries, she did.

The romance in this story is yet another aspect that hits you head on. The chemistry between Mara and Noah is so different and unique; it’s almost acidic. If the plot didn’t back up why this I-hate-you-because-I-like-you worked between them, it wouldn’t have been nearly as effective. I really enjoyed the banter between them, which only amped up the sexual tension.

The plot itself is a strange one. I don’t think I can even explain it to you. There is a lot left hanging in the end, a lot left to discover. All I know is that I liked this story and the characters seemed so effortless that I’m sure it took tons of work to pull them off. I’m intrigued by Hodkin’s storytelling. It was interesting but exciting, romantic but suspenseful. I was pulled into the story and read it in one day. I couldn’t put it down. This is the first book in a trilogy. I’ll definitely be continuing on to see what happens. I’d recommend this to anyone looking for a suspenseful story with a heavy romantic element.

STARS: 4 out of 5

Leave a Reply

