Kate Daniels series #1-3 Magic Bites, Magic Burns, and Magic Strikes by Ilona Andrews

I’m always up for a good urban fantasy, when I heard about this “Kate Daniels” and Ilona Andrews, I was intrigued…and I was hooked after the first few pages of book one. Let me give you the low down on the first three books in this series because, most likely, you will read them in quick succession like I did.

imagesWhen the magic is up, rogue mages cast their spells and monsters appear, while guns refuse to fire and cars fail to start. But then technology returns, and the magic recedes as unpredictably as it arose, leaving all kinds of paranormal problems in its wake.

Kate Daniels is a down-on-her-luck mercenary who makes her living cleaning up these magical problems. But when Kate’s guardian is murdered, her quest for justice draws her into a power struggle between two strong factions within Atlanta’s magic circles.

The Masters of the Dead, necromancers who can control vampires, and the Pack, a paramilitary clan of shapechangers, blame each other for a series of bizarre killings—and the death of Kate’s guardian may be part of the same mystery. Pressured by both sides to find the killer, Kate realizes she’s way out of her league—but she wouldn’t have it any other way…

Book one, Magic Bites by Ilona Andrews, was a sufficient introduction into Kate Daniels’ world. I found Kate to be incredibly entertaining with her badass moves and her witty quips. (A girl after my own heart.) The line “Here, kitty kitty…” when she first meets the Curran, the lord of the beasts, was hysterical! I found this book to be a great set-up for the series but the “meat” just wasn’t there. The relationships were only just starting to grow and the storyline was beginning to take off.  However, we do get to know Kate very well, well enough to love her and continue the series.

STARS: 3.5 out of 5

imagesCAM6ZXAPDown in Atlanta, tempers – and temperatures – are about to flare…

As a mercenary who cleans up after magic gone wrong, Kate Daniels has seen her share of occupational hazards. Normally, waves of paranormal energy ebb and flow across Atlanta like a tide. But once every seven years, a flare comes, a time when magic runs rampant. Now Kate’s going to have to deal with problems on a much bigger scale: a divine one.

When Kate sets out to retrieve a set of stolen maps for the Pack, Atlanta’s paramilitary clan of shapeshifters, she quickly realizes much more at stake. During a flare, gods and goddesses can manifest – and battle for power. The stolen maps are only the opening gambit in an epic tug-of-war between two gods hoping for rebirth. And if Kate can’t stop the cataclysmic showdown, the city may not survive…

Book two, Magic Burns by Ilona Andrews was an amazing continuation of this series. It had a “meaty” plot that drove the interactions between the characters. Andrews created the most delicious sexual tension I have EVER experienced. I was writhing in anticipation by the end; can Kate just get a little action?? Speaking of action, there is also a completely different kind of  action in this book, and it was non-stop. I LOVE fight to the deaths and Andrews delivered. My heart is still racing from all the action. As a character, Kate is slowly unraveled before us exposing the secrets she keeps and why she keeps them. I loved her secrets and I loved that she fought to keep them a secret but was still human enough to want an ordinary life. The only issue I had with the series so far is every problem turned into “IT’S THE END OF THE WORLD AS WE KNOW IT!” This plot device can be overdone and desensitize readers. At one point, I found myself annoyed that every fight determined the fate of the world. I’d appreciate a little more reality in that aspect of the books. Overall, it’s still a great book.

STARS: 4 out of 5

images2Investigator for the Order of Knights of Merciful Aid, Kate Daniels keeps humans safe in Atlanta. But when her werewolf friend Derek is dying in human form, from attack by the mysterious Reaper team at the Midnight Games, she and Curran, the Beast Lord, must fight together to win the Wolf Diamond topaz and save his Pack and her friends.

Book three is Magic Strikes by Ilona Andrews. This series just keeps getting better and better, just when I thought the series would level out, it keeps building with more action, more character growth, and more PASSION. I am absolutely hooked. Andrews has led me along quivering in anticipation from the sexual tension between Curran and Kate. Finally, in book three, there was some sizzling action. (Waiting until the third book for a sex scene in an urban fantasy has got to be a record!) These sex scenes add to the plot which is super refreshing and I, for one, thoroughly enjoyed them. However, the best thing about this book was the witty writing. I have never (in my entire life) laughed out loud while reading as much as I did with this book. I was practically rolling on the floor. (This is NOT an exaggeration.) I had so much fun with this book and it was so entertaining. I loved how Andrews blended the funny with the serious. This book had a very sweet ending. Andrews has truly built a series that I want more and more of.

STARS: 5 out of 5

I’m already on the path to devouring the next two books, Magic Bleeds and Magic Slays, and I’m anticipating the release of Magic Rises which comes out July 30, 2013. If you love Urban Fantasy, this series is for you.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s