Prodigy by Marie Lu

13414446I’m still misty-eyed after finishing Prodigy by Marie Lu, the second book in the Legend series. I really liked Legend and I liked Prodigy even more.

June and Day arrive in Vegas just as the unthinkable happens: the Elector Primo dies, and his son Anden takes his place. With the Republic edging closer to chaos, the two join a group of Patriot rebels eager to help Day rescue his brother and offer passage to the Colonies. They have only one request—June and Day must assassinate the new Elector.

It’s their chance to change the nation, to give voice to a people silenced for too long.

But as June realizes this Elector is nothing like his father, she’s haunted by the choice ahead. What if Anden is a new beginning? What if revolution must be more than loss and vengeance, anger and blood—what if the Patriots are wrong?

In this highly-anticipated sequel, Lu delivers a breathtaking thriller with high stakes and cinematic action.

I had no idea where Marie Lu was going to go with this series but she totally blew my mind. Day and June are on the run from the Republic and with nowhere else to go, they turn to the Patriots for help.

I loved the depth of both Day and June that the reader gets to see in this book. Emotions are high and loyalties are tested. I really liked how its obvious both Day and June like each other, but it’s still evident that they’ve only known each other a short time. They’ve both risked everything to be together but their relationship is still growing. I love that it’s so natural and real.

Just like in the first book, I loved June’s critical, sharp mind. She is so badass. I loved being in her head, watching her assess each situation with calm calculation. It made her evaluation of her emotions and feelings that much more fun to read. With that said, I loved Day’s zest for life and justice. He wears his heart on his sleeve and I love that about him. The only thing I didn’t like was reading his sections in blue. I’m not sure why the publisher did that, but it makes it hard to read and, consequently,  incredibly distracting. Anden, the elector’s son, was so hard to hate after seeing his interaction with June.  I would be lying if I said my heart didn’t skip a beat when I saw the potential for a love triangle. I can’t wait to see where Lu takes this story.

The tension was high in this book. I found myself constantly worried about what would happen. There are a lot of close calls and twists. I thought I was going to have a heart attack a few times. In essence, this book is just as good if not better than the first. This book left my heart racing, tears flowing down my cheeks and an undeniable love for this series in my heart. I highly recommend this series and I can’t wait to read the next installment, Champion, which won’t be released until 2014.

STARS: 4 out of 5

2 thoughts on “Prodigy by Marie Lu

  1. Pingback: Releases and Recommendations | Note to Selph Book Reviews

  2. Pingback: Champion by Marie Lu | Note to Selph Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

