The Immortal Rules By Julie Kagawa

Book one of the Blood Of Eden series, The Immortal Rules by Julie Kawaga, is one of those books that I put off reading because I didn’t care for Kawaga’s Iron Fey series. However, I read a recent review that reminded me the book existed and boasted a good read. So, I picked it up at my local library.

10215349In a future world, vampires reign. Humans are blood cattle. And one girl will search for the key to save humanity.”Allison Sekemoto survives in the Fringe, the outermost circle of a vampire city. By day, she and her crew scavenge for food. By night, any one of them could be eaten.

Some days, all that drives Allie is her hatred of “them.” The vampires who keep humans as blood cattle. Until the night Allie herself is attacked–and given the ultimate choice. Die…or become one of the monsters.

Faced with her own mortality, Allie becomes what she despises most. To survive, she must learn the rules of being immortal, including the most important: go long enough without human blood, and you will go mad.

Then Allie is forced to flee into the unknown, outside her city walls. There she joins a ragged band of humans who are seeking a legend–a possible cure to the disease that killed off most of humankind and created the rabids, the mindless creatures who threaten humans and vampires alike.

But it isn’t easy to pass for human. Especially not around Zeke, who might see past the monster inside her. And Allie soon must decide what–and who–is worth dying for.

The best thing about this book is the pacing. Throughout the story, Allison goes through many transitions. In each one, the reader is introduced to the characters and basically falls in love with them in just a few short pages and then BAM! — she moves on to the next transition and characters are falling like flies. I was surprised that Kawaga had the ability to make me fall in love with such short-lived characters with only a paragraph or two of back story. I give mad props to Kawaga for achieving such skills. I also appreciated that the main character, Allison, was constant throughout the transitions. She still possessed the strong-willed, sassy personality with bite that just progressed into pure awesome.

Kawaga created a world around Allison that seemed effortless. Now, looking back, I can see where it must have been incredibly complicated. Tied with the plot twists throughout the book, I felt like this story was well put together in every sense of the word. The characters were each distinct and the main character grew from the challenges and experiences.

I don’t know exactly how I feel about the romance between Allison and Zeke but I was definitely enthralled. It had all the elements of a young romance with sexual tension and sweet anticipation, but there was a strange difference that made me keep my distance from growing “feelings” about their relationship. I don’t know if it was because I knew Kawaga had a tendency to drop characters like flies or that the futility of the relationship just showed through, but I had a feeling that this love story would end tragically (NOT saying that it did, this is NOT a spoiler). Regardless, I really like Allison and Zeke but I wasn’t passionately rooting for them like I usually do with couples.

With that said, I really enjoyed this book. Since this story is set in the post-apocalyptic future, centuries worth of knowledge has been lost. The way Kawaga writes about some of Allison’s weird discoveries was hilarious at points. It was things that are common knowledge to us like Spaghetti-Os, SD cards, and automobiles. It definitely made me smile and I could almost visualize Kawaga sitting at her keyboard with a smirk on her face mentally patting herself on the back for her wit.

I would recommend this book. It definitely wasn’t at all what I was expecting and the plot took off in directions I wasn’t even anticipating. All I know is that I thoroughly enjoyed it. Allison is one kick-ass heroine and I loved how sensible and down-to-earth she was about life as she knew it. It was a believable approach to a practical girl in an impractical situation. I’ll be checking out the next book, The Eternity Cure, which is released on April 23, 2013. (That’s the good thing about putting off a book, once you’ve read it the next book is already almost out!!!)

STARS: 4.5 out of 5

One thought on “The Immortal Rules By Julie Kagawa

  1. Pingback: The Eternity Cure by Julie Kagawa | Note to Selph Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

