Alpha by Rachel Vincent

Once I found out the sixth installment of the Shifters series,  Alpha by Rachel Vincent, was going to be the last book, I almost went into shock. I had assumed like all urban fantasies it would kind of go on forever, at least that was what I was hoping. Every time I finish a series I’ve been invested in, it strongly affects my real life. I’m talking full-out depression (okay, maybe that’s a bit of an exaggeration, but you get the idea). It doesn’t matter if it ended well, I just can’t deal with the reality that the characters I know and love will be no more, with no more story to tell. So it was with a heavy heart, I started this final book.

The unscrupulous new Council chair has charged Jace, Marc and me with trespassing, kidnapping, murder and treason. Yeah, we’ve been busy. But now it’s time to take justice into our own hands. We must avenge my brother’s death and carve out the rot at the heart of the Council.It’s not going to be easy, and loss seems unavoidable, but I have promised to protect my Pride, no matter what. With a target on my back and Marc at my side, I’m heading for a final showdown that can–that will–change everything forever. A showdown I’m not sure I’m ready for.

But life never waits until you’re ready.

I should start this review with the obvious: I love this series. So, anything from here on out will be completely bias.

Faythe’s final hurrah is intense. There is so much action and death. I bawled my freakin’ eyes out.  This book is filled with unexpected twists — everywhere! The entire time I felt like I was holding on for dear life. I wanted everything to turn out perfect for Faythe. It didn’t turn out perfect but that’s the beauty of Rachel Vincent. Her stories are so real and so believable, they can’t help but get under your skin. This series got under my skin and I want it to stay there. This last installment offers everything you’d expect from Vincent and more. I absolutely adored this book.

And now, the mother of all love triangles — Marc and Jace.  I have no earthly idea how Vincent pulled this off but she did. I couldn’t decide who I wanted, Faythe couldn’t decide who she wanted, and Vincent wrote it so well and made it so believable, I couldn’t even guess what she wanted! Bravo, Vincent! I think this is the best love triangle execution I’ve seen in a long time, simply because the character development was there to support the feelings between each of them. After all was said and done, I feel like I have closure and I accept that the characters will go on to their own happily ever after. This series was heartbreakingly good, vengence is oh so sweet, but I will surely miss Faythe and her pride.

I loved this series. I would HIGHLY recommend it to anyone who likes action, passion and a heroine with bite and heart.

STARS: 5 out of 5

Leave a Reply

